First Contact: Or, It's Later Than You Think [NOOK Book]

Overview

A satirical joyride in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams, First Contact introduces us to the hyper-intelligent Rigelians, who admire Woody Allen movies and Bundt cake, and who urge the people of Earth to mend their ways to avoid destruction of their planet. But the president of the United States, a God-fearing, science-doubting fitness fanatic, is skeptical of the evidence presented to him and sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of his young attaché, an alien scam artist, ...

See more details below
First Contact: Or, It's Later Than You Think

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.39
BN.com price

Overview

A satirical joyride in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams, First Contact introduces us to the hyper-intelligent Rigelians, who admire Woody Allen movies and Bundt cake, and who urge the people of Earth to mend their ways to avoid destruction of their planet. But the president of the United States, a God-fearing, science-doubting fitness fanatic, is skeptical of the evidence presented to him and sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of his young attaché, an alien scam artist, several raccoons, and a scientist who has predicted the end of the universe. Parrot sketch excluded.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780061966187
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 1/26/2010
  • Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 272
  • Sales rank: 931,092
  • File size: 395 KB

Meet the Author

Evan Mandery

Evan Mandery is a graduate of Harvard Law School, a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City, and the author of Dreaming of Gwen Stefani, First Contact, Q: A Novel, and two works of non-fiction.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Incredibly original story!

    I highly recommend this off-beat story of a young man out of touch with his own life. That separateness is the result of a trauma that is slowly revealed across the book, and it leads him to several questionable life decisions.

    Once you get past the gore, you realize that Evan Mandery has created a full cast of bizarre-but-believable characters whom you grow to care about.

    An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    A wonderful, fun book

    I like to read before bed, and I go through a lot of books. What's rare is that I turn to my spouse to say, "this book is really good!" That's what happened with First Contact. Evan Mandery has created a fun read that still gives you food for thought and makes you feel a connection with the characters while never taking itself too seriously.

    The author goes off on tangents that wouldn't work anywhere near as well if tried by a less skilled author. Instead, in this book, they add to the lighthearted fun inherent in the story. Matters of the gravest concern are at stake in First Contact, and still it's an uplifting novel.

    From a president who is a composite of what some of us may have feared certain holders of that office have truly been (this one having a particular obsession with finding the right underwear) to his long-suffering aide, to raccoons and aliens from a far away world, this isn't your run-of-the-mill novel, but that's a very good thing.

    Never losing its pace or its sense of humor, you won't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    Nice ride!

    Mandery's First Contact is an engaging read: clever and a nice ride. I enjoyed it immensely, so much so that I postponed finishing it. The book has a slightly twisted, optimistic flavor, with a dryness that fits in well with the story. Mandery seems to kick the gods a bit, and weighs in upon some pretty dark themes, without requiring that the reader do more than appreciate life more fully. In sum, it's entertaining, saccarine-free, and sharp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    One of the most enjoyable books I have ever read

    Disguised as a boisterous journey through the galaxy and beyond, Mandery skewers the forces of provincialism as he comments on the important things: relationships, government, the quest for knowledge, chocodiles, and Bundt cake. This is satire at its best, the work of a master. Carefully crafted and riotously funny on the outside, what I will remember about this book is the compassion and humantity at its core.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Smart Salmagundi Satire

    First Contact transports and inserts the reader into a political science fiction hullabaloo. An intelligent read that is difficult to put down, the level of intimacy between the author and the reader can only be compared to two compatriots conversing in the middle of a busy café where hopes, dreams and the meaning of life are consumed along with whimsically-named foodstuffs. The novel presents a unique reading experience heavily influenced by the artistic stylings of Monty Python, Douglas Adams and a young Woody Allen. Mandery's bang on observations about real, everyday situations and relationships were dispensed in a playful, comedic manner that forewarns, "it's later than you think." This is one new author to watch spinning a tale dying to be played out on the big screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Calling All Jon Stewart Fans

    Do you hear that? That's the sound of Jon Stewart kicking himself, because he didn't write this hilarious book. Mixing politics, science fiction, philosophy, and love with a splash of pop culture references, Mandery has created a novel so funny that it's easy to forget how smart it is. Filled with fast-paced, witty dialogue, First Contact does the two things any great read does: It makes you laugh and makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Hilarious, Thought-Provoking & Well Written

    When I started reading it I was hooked right away, the characters, aside from the hilariously-clueless W-inspired president, are original and funny. The writing is witty as well as poignant. I found myself laughing out loud on the NYC subway, which got me a few looks from the other passengers. I figured that the book would be just one big laugh. I was wrong. Besides humorous, it was thoughtful and full of the kind of spirit that this world needs more. Still the events of the book are so funny don't be surprised if you miss your stop on the train or stay up all night to finish the book. Just take my word for it and buy it. You will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)