First Team

( 6 )

Overview

Brock is on the run again in New York Times bestselling author Tim Green’s companion book to New Kid. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman’s Baseball Card Adventure series.

With his strong left arm, Brock knows he can be a great quarterback, and with the help of his new friend, Mak, he has a plan to make the first team. But the coaches have plans of their own, especially for the kids from the wrong side of the tracks, which is exactly ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$14.17
BN.com price
(Save 16%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (14) from $5.38   
  • New (9) from $9.28   
  • Used (5) from $5.38   
First Team

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

Brock is on the run again in New York Times bestselling author Tim Green’s companion book to New Kid. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman’s Baseball Card Adventure series.

With his strong left arm, Brock knows he can be a great quarterback, and with the help of his new friend, Mak, he has a plan to make the first team. But the coaches have plans of their own, especially for the kids from the wrong side of the tracks, which is exactly where Brock now lives.

As Brock is trying to fit in, his father’s past is catching up to him—and one chance meeting causes everything to come crashing down. Will Brock finally be able to navigate his new life, or will his past force him back on the run?

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

VOYA, December 2014 (Vol. 37, No. 5) - Susan Allen
In this sequel to New Kid (HarperCollins, 2014), Brock and his father narrowly escape with their lives when the plane they are using to flee his father’s enemies crashes. Because the crash has changed both of their facial features, Brock’s dad decides it is safe for them to settle down. They move to a small town—Calhoun, Ohio. Their rental home is on the “wrong side” of town, which causes problems for Brock. Football is a matter of fierce town pride, and winning is important, but so is where the players live. Brock tries football and finds that he has talent, but his address hurts his chances for the team. As if that is not enough, Brock begins to think he is being followed and starts wondering if his dad’s enemies have located them again. Mak, Brock’s new friend, offers a lot of support, and Laurel adds the hint of a romantic interest. The characters lack believability in a few places, and occasionally the story seems to fall into place too easily—the spy aspect detracts at times. The story is full of football and coaches and middle school dramas, however, and most readers will concentrate on this rather than any shortcomings. This volume is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman. Reviewer: Susan Allen; Ages 11 to 14.
School Library Journal
08/01/2014
Gr 5–8—Picking up right where New Kid (HarperCollins, 2014) left off, the shadowy "bad guys" are chasing Brock and his dad out of town. Another vehicle blocks their escape route and rams them down the side of an embankment. They not only escape unhurt, but also manage to evade the bullets being shot at them. Brock's dad stops their slog through the woods in the pouring rain to check his GPS on his cell phone. They are conveniently close to the runway where the man has parked an airplane. That's when Brock learns that his dad knows how to fly and isn't afraid to play a game of chicken with their assailants, who may be Russians or the "agency." There's plenty of action here, only it's not quite adrenaline-inducing because, while there is menace, there is no bite. The unidentified pursuers are just too inept and Brock's dad is just too lucky. The contrivances become increasingly difficult to believe and are not relegated to the espionage. Readers are expected to believe that the pitching prodigy is also a football prodigy, a quarterback no less. The mentor is the high-school star quarterback son of his dad's love interest. The issue of classism in the football-obsessed town they settle in would be interesting if the coaches were not cardboard stereotypes. A bewildering twist at the end may portend a third book.—Brenda Kahn, Tenakill Middle School, Closter, NJ
Kirkus Reviews
2014-07-16
In this sequel to New Kid (2014), Brock discovers real life isn't all it's cracked up to be. Brock is thrilled when his father announces that it's time for them to settle into a normal life, one in which they don't have to move every few months to escape his father's murderous enemies. But real life turns out to have plenty of problems, too. Brock's natural ability to throw a ball gains him attention from the junior varsity football coach, but the socioeconomic politics of the town dictate that the quarterback positions go to wealthy kids who are related to the coaches. And what about the bad feelings he's been getting about different people in town and the strange cars that look like they could be following him? Are his dad's enemies really fooled? NFL player-turned-author Green delivers a fast-paced, compelling tale that middle-grade readers will find entertaining. The story sometimes feels too convenient for the sake of a tidy plot, and Brock's character occasionally seems a little flat, but readers will probably be caught up in the timeless dramas of boy meets girl and boy wants to play football. An exciting continuation of Brock's adventures on and off the field. (Fiction. 10-13)
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“An entertaining novel.”
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062208750
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 9/30/2014
  • Pages: 336
  • Sales rank: 57,061
  • Age range: 8 - 12 Years
  • Lexile: 700L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 6.30 (w) x 9.10 (h) x 1.30 (d)

Meet the Author

Tim Green

Tim Green played Little League baseball for many years before specializing in football. After graduating as covaledictorian from Syracuse University, he was a first-round draft pick and played as a star defensive end for the Atlanta Falcons for eight years. He earned his law degree with honors and has worked as an NFL analyst for FOX Sports and an NFL commentator for NPR.

When his sons began to play baseball, Tim drew on his early love of the game to coach their teams. His exciting books for young readers include the New York Times bestselling Unstoppable, Baseball Great, Rivals, and Best of the Best. He has also written the novels Football Genius, Football Champ, and The Big Time, starring Troy White, and Football Hero, starring Ty Lewis. Troy and Ty meet in Tim's exciting Football Genius novel Deep Zone.

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    #2

    Percy. (Like isent that slightly obeioys)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    #3

    PERCY ALL THE WAY!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    FIRST TEAM

    Begins right where new kid leaves off!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    Woop

    Luv yer books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    #1

    Leo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)