Flatterland: Like Flatland Only More So

Flatterland: Like Flatland Only More So

3.2 5
by Ian Stewart
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 073820675X

ISBN-13: 9780738206752

Pub. Date: 05/28/2002

Publisher: Basic Books


First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape

Overview


First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780738206752
Publisher:
Basic Books
Publication date:
05/28/2002
Series:
Art of Mentoring Series
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
301
Sales rank:
646,909
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

Table of Contents

From Flatland to Flatterlandvii
1The Third Dimension1
2Victoria's Diary12
3The Visitation21
4A Hundred and One Dimensions38
5One and a Quarter Dimensions65
6The Topologist's Tea-Party89
7Along the Looking-Glass107
8Grape Theory118
9What Is a Geometry?131
10Platterland145
11Cat Country165
12The Paradox Twins187
13The Domain of the Hawk King202
14Down the Wormhole223
15What Shape Is the Universe?251
16No-Branes and P-Branes266
17Flatterland288
18The Tenth Dimension294

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Flatterland: Like Flatland Only More So 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first time that I opened this book I could not put it down. I thought that the characters made this more than just a 'science report'. The language is easy to understand 'save a few paragraphs and explanations - some things are just too complicated to simplify'. Overall, if you are confused by the thought of extra dimensions and want an easy way to understand it, while at the same time being entertained, read this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I put this book down two chapters in. There is more useless character development and less intelectual structure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was expecting something of a little bit higher caliber. The book was written in too simple of a style. Abbot would be embarashed to read this 'sequel.'
Guest More than 1 year ago
I real Flatland a few months ago and I though it was great. I just finished reading Flatterland and it maybe one of the greatest books ever written. I loved it and would recomend it to everyone I know.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An interesting book. It isn't quite as good as Flatland, but holds your interest. It presents a much greater number of ideas. It is somewhat amusing as well. It is worth a read.