Florence and Giles

Florence and Giles

by John Harding
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A gripping, sinister Gothic tale inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw

In 1891, in a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence and her younger brother are neglected by her guardian uncle. Banned from reading, Florence devours books

Overview

A gripping, sinister Gothic tale inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw

In 1891, in a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence and her younger brother are neglected by her guardian uncle. Banned from reading, Florence devours books in secret and talks to herself—and narrates her story—in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful enemy, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to protect her little brother and preserve her private world. This gothic page-turner in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher is told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780007315048
Publisher:
Blue Door
Publication date:
03/28/2011

Meet the Author

John Harding is a book reviewer for the Daily Mail and the author of While the Sun Shines.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >