Flour, Too: Indispensable Recipes for the Cafe's Most Loved Sweets & Savories

Flour, Too: Indispensable Recipes for the Cafe's Most Loved Sweets & Savories

4.0 2
by Joanne Chang
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The ideal companion to Flour—Joanne Chang's beloved first cookbook—Flour, too includes the most-requested savory fare to have made her four cafés Boston's favorite stops for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Here are 100 gratifying recipes for easy at-home eating and entertaining from brunch treats to soups, pizzas, pasta, and, of

See more details below

Overview

The ideal companion to Flour—Joanne Chang's beloved first cookbook—Flour, too includes the most-requested savory fare to have made her four cafés Boston's favorite stops for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Here are 100 gratifying recipes for easy at-home eating and entertaining from brunch treats to soups, pizzas, pasta, and, of course, Flour's famous cakes, tarts, and other sweet goodies. More than 50 glorious color photographs by Michael Harlan Turkell take the viewer inside the warm, cozy cafés; into the night pastry kitchen; and demonstrate the beauty of this delicious food. With a variety of recipes for all skill levels, this mouthwatering collection is a substantial addition to any home cook's bookshelf.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"After thumbing through the pages of Flour, Too, I immediately wanted to drive to Boston and eat everything in sight at Flour Bakery! The photos of Joanne's creations jump off the pages, the recipes are opulent yet un-intimidating. This book has inspired my cooking at home as well as at work!" -Johnny Iuzzini, James Beard Award Winner and author of Dessert FourPlay"

We don't consider a trip to Boston complete if it doesn't include a visit to Flour Bakery for a BLT and a couple of cookies. With Flour, Too we can live vicariously and be there whenever we want."-Amanda Hesser and Merrill Stubbs, co-founders of Food52"

The next best thing to living next door to Flour Bakery is having Joanne Chang's recipes in your kitchen. I'm looking forward to baking my way through this terrific book, starting with the savory - and finishing with one of her sweet endings."-David Lebovitz, author of Ready for Dessert and The Sweet Life in Paris"

Everything we loved about Joanne Chang's first book is here: the great tips, the detailed instructions, and the recipes that make you want to stop everything and head for the kitchen. But this time it's the (mostly) savory side of Chang and Flour Bakery. From brunch treats, soups, and salads to pizzas, pastas, and more treasured sweets, this is food we'll be making, sharing, and relishing day after day."-Dorie Greenspan, author of Around My French Table and owner of Beurre & Sel"

Diligently precise, Chang is a talented recipe writer. Her dishes appear even more exciting on the plate than they do on the page." — Library Journal, July 2013 starred review"

Diligently precise, Chang is a talented recipe writer. Her dishes appear even more exciting on the plate than they do on the page." - Library Journal, Starred Review

Library Journal
James Beard Award-nominated chef Chang, a Harvard-educated former management consultant, owns four Flour Bakery + Café locations in Boston. This companion to her first cookbook, Flour, captures a bustling day in the life of her businesses and, like the best restaurant cookbooks, enables readers to re-create their favorites successfully at home. Flavorful savory dishes dominate, followed by more of Chang's signature classic French and nostalgic American desserts. VERDICT Diligently precise, Chang is a talented recipe writer. Her dishes appear even more exciting on the plate than they do on the page. For readers who loved Tom Douglas's The Dahlia Bakery Cookbook: Sweetness in Seattle, Elisabeth M. Prueitt and Chad Robertson's Tartine, or Frank Mentesana and others' Once Upon a Tart…: Soups, Salads, Muffins, and More, this title is essential.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781452106144
Publisher:
Chronicle Books LLC
Publication date:
06/04/2013
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
185,958
Product dimensions:
7.60(w) x 10.10(h) x 1.10(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >