Flour, Too: Indispensable Recipes for the Cafe's Most Loved Sweets & Savories [NOOK Book]

Overview

The ideal companion to Flour—Joanne Chang's beloved first cookbook—Flour, too includes the most-requested savory fare to have made her four cafés Boston's favorite stops for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Here are 100 gratifying recipes for easy at-home eating and entertaining from brunch treats to soups, pizzas, pasta, and, of course, Flour's famous cakes, tarts, and other sweet goodies. More than 50 glorious color photographs by Michael Harlan Turkell take the viewer inside the warm, cozy cafés; into the night ...
See more details below
Flour, Too: Indispensable Recipes for the Cafe's Most Loved Sweets & Savories

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$13.49
BN.com price
(Save 43%)$23.99 List Price

Overview

The ideal companion to Flour—Joanne Chang's beloved first cookbook—Flour, too includes the most-requested savory fare to have made her four cafés Boston's favorite stops for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Here are 100 gratifying recipes for easy at-home eating and entertaining from brunch treats to soups, pizzas, pasta, and, of course, Flour's famous cakes, tarts, and other sweet goodies. More than 50 glorious color photographs by Michael Harlan Turkell take the viewer inside the warm, cozy cafés; into the night pastry kitchen; and demonstrate the beauty of this delicious food. With a variety of recipes for all skill levels, this mouthwatering collection is a substantial addition to any home cook's bookshelf.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"After thumbing through the pages of Flour, Too, I immediately wanted to drive to Boston and eat everything in sight at Flour Bakery! The photos of Joanne's creations jump off the pages, the recipes are opulent yet un-intimidating. This book has inspired my cooking at home as well as at work!" -Johnny Iuzzini, James Beard Award Winner and author of Dessert FourPlay

"We don't consider a trip to Boston complete if it doesn't include a visit to Flour Bakery for a BLT and a couple of cookies. With Flour, Too we can live vicariously and be there whenever we want."-Amanda Hesser and Merrill Stubbs, co-founders of Food52

"The next best thing to living next door to Flour Bakery is having Joanne Chang's recipes in your kitchen. I'm looking forward to baking my way through this terrific book, starting with the savory - and finishing with one of her sweet endings."-David Lebovitz, author of Ready for Dessert and The Sweet Life in Paris

"Everything we loved about Joanne Chang's first book is here: the great tips, the detailed instructions, and the recipes that make you want to stop everything and head for the kitchen. But this time it's the (mostly) savory side of Chang and Flour Bakery. From brunch treats, soups, and salads to pizzas, pastas, and more treasured sweets, this is food we'll be making, sharing, and relishing day after day."-Dorie Greenspan, author of Around My French Table and owner of Beurre & Sel

"Diligently precise, Chang is a talented recipe writer. Her dishes appear even more exciting on the plate than they do on the page." — Library Journal, July 2013 starred review

"Diligently precise, Chang is a talented recipe writer. Her dishes appear even more exciting on the plate than they do on the page." - Library Journal, Starred Review

Library Journal
James Beard Award-nominated chef Chang, a Harvard-educated former management consultant, owns four Flour Bakery + Café locations in Boston. This companion to her first cookbook, Flour, captures a bustling day in the life of her businesses and, like the best restaurant cookbooks, enables readers to re-create their favorites successfully at home. Flavorful savory dishes dominate, followed by more of Chang's signature classic French and nostalgic American desserts. VERDICT Diligently precise, Chang is a talented recipe writer. Her dishes appear even more exciting on the plate than they do on the page. For readers who loved Tom Douglas's The Dahlia Bakery Cookbook: Sweetness in Seattle, Elisabeth M. Prueitt and Chad Robertson's Tartine, or Frank Mentesana and others' Once Upon a Tart…: Soups, Salads, Muffins, and More, this title is essential.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781452127408
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC
  • Publication date: 6/4/2013
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 304
  • Sales rank: 582,646
  • File size: 19 MB
  • Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Meet the Author

Joanne Chang
Joanne Chang is the owner of Flour Bakery + Café, with locations in Boston and Cambridge, Massachusetts, and co-owner of Myers + Chang. She lives in Boston, Massachusetts.

Michael Harlan Turkell is an award-winning and James Beard Foundation-nominated photographer. He has shot for an array of publications and numerous cookbooks, and hosts THE FOOD SEEN on HeritageRadioNetwork.org

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Guardedly recommend

    I found some great savory and sweet recipes but I think the original Flour Cookbook is a tad better! Why isn't that available?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)