The Food of Spain

The Food of Spain

4.5 2
by Claudia Roden
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden, the James Beard award-winning author of the classics A Book of Middle Eastern Food and The Book of Jewish Food, and one of our foremost authorities on Mediterranean, North African, and Italian cooking, brings her incomparable authenticity, vision, and immense knowledge to bear in this cookbook on the

…  See more details below

Overview

In The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden, the James Beard award-winning author of the classics A Book of Middle Eastern Food and The Book of Jewish Food, and one of our foremost authorities on Mediterranean, North African, and Italian cooking, brings her incomparable authenticity, vision, and immense knowledge to bear in this cookbook on the cuisines of Spain.

New York Times bestselling cookbook author Claudia Roden believes that through food a cook can reconstruct an entire world. And in her classic A Book of Middle Eastern Food–eight hundred recipes long, a treasure trove of folk tales, proverbs, stories, poetry, and local history–that's just what she did. Historian and critic Simon Schama has said of her that "Claudia Roden is no more a simple cookbook writer than Marcel Proust was a biscuit baker." The Book of Jewish Food, another classic, is equally magnificent in its span, a cookbook that is also a history of Jewish life and settlement, told through the story of what Jews ate, and where, and why, and how they made it.

Now, in The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden applies that same remarkable insight, scope, and authority to a cuisine marked by its regionalism and suffused with an unusually particular culinary history. In hundreds of exquisite recipes, Roden explores both the little known and the classic dishes of Spain–from Andalusia to Asturias, from Catalonia to Galicia. And whether she's writing about smoky, nutty Catalan Romesco sauce, Cordero a la Miel–sweet and hot tender lamb stew with honey–or the iconic, emblematic national dish of Spain, saffron-perfumed Paella Valenciana, her clear, elegant, humorous, and passionate voice is a reader's delight, a guide not only to delicious food but to the peoples and cultures that produced it.

Both comprehensive and timeless, The Food of Spain is one of the most important books on this tremendous cuisine to appear in the last fifty years. A classic in the making, it is an essential work not only for fans of Spanish and Mediterranean food but for every serious cook as well as discerning armchair travelers.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Sam Sifton
“After a series of fascinating essays on the historical forces that led to the creation of various Spanish cuisines (among others: Celts and Jews, Frenchmen, monks, peasants and royals), Roden slips into the kitchen to deliver the goods.”
Christopher Kimball
OK, I am not a big fan of the typical "The Food of . . ." The copy often falls into the tourism category, the recipes are a bit hoary, and, well, the whole thing feels like it was served up as leftovers. Ms. Roden's effort does occasionally fall into a few of these traps especially when one reads catchphrases extolling the region's "breathtaking gastronomic diversity." What country would not meet this definition? And darling photos of young, snowy white sheep across from a recipe for lamb shanks have made it past a less-than-discriminating editor. But the author gets a free pass due to the recipes—clean, solid, and quite doable in an American kitchen. The Medley of Spring Vegetables (fava beans, artichoke hearts, and asparagus bathed in chicken broth), Eggplant with Béchamel and Cheese, Beans with Cured Pork and Sausages, and a simple Almond Cake are all in-your-face, I-want-to-eat-it-now examples of rustic appeal and hearty country cooking. Despite its timeless and often predictable formula, The Food of Spain does deliver on the food and that's where it counts.
Founder and Editor, America's Test Kitchen
Sam Sifton
…a sweeping and tightly edited overview of the varied cuisines of the Iberian Peninsula.
—The New York Times

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061969621
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/07/2011
Pages:
624
Sales rank:
251,258
Product dimensions:
8.70(w) x 10.40(h) x 2.40(d)

What People are saying about this

Sam Sifton
“After a series of fascinating essays on the historical forces that led to the creation of various Spanish cuisines (among others: Celts and Jews, Frenchmen, monks, peasants and royals), Roden slips into the kitchen to deliver the goods.”

Meet the Author

Claudia Roden was born and brought up in Cairo. She finished her education in Paris and later studied art in London. She now lives in London. Roden writes about food with a special interest in the social and historical back-ground of cooking. Her books include The Book of Jewish Food, which won eight international awards, as well as The New Book of Middle Eastern Food, Arabesque, Coffee: A Connoisseur's Companion, The Food of Italy: Region by Region, Everything Tastes Better Outdoors, and Mediterranean Cookery. In 1989 she won Italy's two most prestigious food prizes, the Premio Orio Vergani and the Premio Maria Luigia, Duchessa di Parma. She has also won six Glenfiddich awards.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Food of Spain 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago