Forensics For Dummies

Forensics For Dummies

4.3 7
by Douglas P. Lyle
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell
Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few

Overview

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell
Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. Using lots of fascinating case studies, forensics expert Dr. D. P. Lyle clues people in on everything from determining cause and time of death to fingerprints, fibers, blood, ballistics, forensic computing, and forensic psychology. With its clear, entertaining explanations of forensic procedures and techniques, this book will be an indispensable reference for mystery fans and true crime aficionados everywhere-and even includes advice for people interested in forensic science careers.
D. P. Lyle, MD (Laguna Hills, CA), is a practicing cardiologist who is also a forensics expert and mystery writer. He runs a Web site that answers writers' questions about forensics, dplylemd.com, and is the author of Murder and Mayhem: A Doctor Answers Medical and Forensic Questions for Writers, as well as several mystery novels. John Pless, MD, is Professor Emeritus of Pathology at Indiana University School of Medicine and former President of the National Association of Medical Examiners.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“…leaves you wondering how anyone ever manages to get away with any crime, let alone murder. Highly recommended...” (Fortean Times, March 2005)

“…fascinating reading…a must-have book…a superb introduction to a fascinating subject…” (Ripperologist, July 2004)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780764555800
Publisher:
Wiley
Publication date:
04/19/2004
Series:
For Dummies Series
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
7.40(w) x 9.15(h) x 0.85(d)

Meet the Author

D. P. Lyle, MD, operates The Writer’s Medical and Forensics Lab at www.dplylemd.com. He has served as a consultant for prominent writers and television programs, including Law & Order.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Forensics for Dummies 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forensics is full of details and this gives a really good perspective. Good overview of the subject.
vampirate More than 1 year ago
Even though I'm pretty young, this book really has given me a good insight into the world of Forensic Science. With the detailed accounts of how forensic science has helped solve hundreds of cases in the last few decades really lets me know what I'm up against! The "for dummies" series has done it again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forensics for dummies will defenitely give you some backround on this subject. It'll keep you interested from start to finish. The knowledge in this book is easily absorbed.This guide is good for those looking for a career in forensics and those who are just interested.Its organized, educational, and fascinating.Its one of a kind because theres not many guides on this subject that are helpful like this one.
maymeMM More than 1 year ago
D.P. Lyle has given us simple explanations for very complicated processes. Anyone who is writing a mystery novel that contains forensics should buy this book.
Gagasue More than 1 year ago
Entertaining forensics reference for mystery writers and serious mystery readers who want to check the verisimilitude of story events. If a mystery takes place in England in the 1890s, will fingerprints be taken at the crime scene? What about hypnotism? This book answers these questions and oh so many ore. It contains an excellent section on crime scene evidence, determining the hows, whys, whens of death, working with fluids, including blood, and ends with ten famous forensic cases and the ways Hollywood gets it wrong. If you need an easy-to-read quick picker-upper, this book is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
buryuntime More than 1 year ago
For anyone wanting to know about forensics, this is a great start. Everything is easy to read and well formatted. Throughout the book it provides real-life examples and more detailed information. Each chapter is on a different area of forensics. It even lists potential careers for those interested in forensics. Highly recommended.