Forest of Ruin (Age of Legends Series #3)

Forest of Ruin (Age of Legends Series #3)

4.3 6
by Kelley Armstrong
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones, this is the breathtaking conclusion to the Age of Legends trilogy—from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong.

The empire rests on the edge of a knife, and sisters Ashyn and Moria are the handle and the blade. Desperate to outmaneuver the evil Alvar Kitsune, whose hold on

Overview

Perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones, this is the breathtaking conclusion to the Age of Legends trilogy—from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong.

The empire rests on the edge of a knife, and sisters Ashyn and Moria are the handle and the blade. Desperate to outmaneuver the evil Alvar Kitsune, whose hold on the people grows stronger every day, Emperor Tatsu begs Moria to put aside past grievances and ally with Gavril—at least long enough to make an attempt on Alvar's life. Meanwhile, reunited with her long-lost grandfather, Ashyn discovers that she is the key to a ritual that could reawaken an ancient dragon and turn the tide of the coming battle in their favor.

But with lies and betrayal lurking around every corner, Ashyn and Moria will have to decide once and for all where their allegiances lie. And it may not be where their hearts would lead them. . . .

In this third and final book in her epic and enchanting trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong blends fantasy, action, and romance to give readers the unforgettable ending they've been waiting for.

Editorial Reviews

;
Praise for Sea of Shadows
Justine Magazine
“We loved the dark fantasy and smoldering romance in this story of identical twins with very different personalities. A tale of heroes, filled with mythological creatures, valor and self-sacrifice—fans of high fantasies will happily slip into this action-packed and exciting tale.”
VOYA, April 2016 (Vol. 39, No. 1) - Jewel Davis
Armstrong’s final installment in the Age of Legends trilogy picks up where it left off, with separated twins Moria, the brave and rash Keeper of the spirits, and Ashyn, the quiet and docile Seeker of the spirits, working to defeat Alvar Kitsune, the evil sorcerer who wants to overthrow the empire. Accompanied by Gavril, Alvar’s estranged son; Tyrus, the illegitimate heir to the emperor’s throne; and Ronan, a former criminal, the twins reunite to finish the quest that continues to challenge each group member’s strength, ability, and resolve. Branded as traitors but secretly working on orders from the emperor to prove their loyalty, the group navigates through heartbreaking betrayals, political misdirection, and tortured, spirit-driven monsters. Managing to defeat the obstacles placed before them, the group returns to the emperor to find that Alvar is still one step ahead and has declared a war that will pit blood against blood and test the bonds of family, friendship, and love. Armstrong struggles with dividing equal attention and pace between the alternating narratives of the dual protagonists. As Moria takes on more heroic roles and action in the plot, Ashyn is left behind with a less clear journey. Nevertheless, Armstrong provides a satisfying series ending for fans, complete with an ultimate sacrifice and a surprising redemption. Reviewer: Jewel Davis; Ages 12 to 18.
Kirkus Reviews
2016-01-09
Twins try to help the empire strike back when a dark force takes hold. Reeling from the massacre in their hometown and hopelessly entangled in imperial politics (Empire of Night, 2015, etc.), Moria and Ashyn attempt to reunite, find the kidnapped children, and rescue the empire. As a Keeper and a Seeker respectively, the teens can hear and soothe unquiet spirits—and are doomed to live without husbands or, likely, children—but they must adapt their powers to deal with legendary beasts unleashed by disgraced ex-military leader and sorcerer Alvar Kitsune. Political subplots, monster attacks, and tedious reconfigurations of traveling companions (un)necessarily prolong the plot until the final battle. Familial, caste, and romantic relationships also complicate matters, separating Ashyn and Moria and partnering them with exiled criminal Ronan, dishonored Gavril Kitsune, bastard prince Tyrus, and bondbeasts Daigo and Tova, often while in captivity. As the twins share narrative duties—Moria's stiff formality and sexual frankness setting her apart from her relatively sedate sister—readers receive both perspectives as well as clunky exposition from other characters concerning the feudal fantasy-Japanese world's magic, religion, and racial tensions. Armstrong indulges in gorier and steamier scenes than in previous installments but never fully succeeds in making the twins into players instead of pawns. A plot-poor but melodrama-rich series closer. (Fantasy. 14-18)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062071309
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/05/2016
Series:
Age of Legends Series , #3
Pages:
448
Sales rank:
30,923
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.70(d)
Age Range:
13 Years

Meet the Author

When librarians finally granted Kelley Armstrong an adult card, she made straight for the epic fantasy and horror shelves. She spent the rest of her childhood and teen years happily roaming fantastical and terrible worlds, and vowed that someday she'd write a story combining swords, sorcery, and the ravenous undead. That story began with the New York Times bestselling Sea of Shadows and continues with Empire of Night.

Armstrong's first works for teens were the New York Times bestselling Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising trilogies. She lives in rural Ontario with her husband, three children, and far too many pets.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Forest of Ruin 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was all good until that last page. I can't help but think "Is that... Was that it?! It's done?! Well... Okay then, whatever.." It just ended with a pending exhale. Like Armstrong was in a hurry and just stopped for a second due to distraction and totally forgot about the ending. I love her books and have barely ever had any issues. This series was awesome and i kind of feel slightly cheated. And it is just that last page. It was going fine! The problem is that premature ending!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't get your hopes up. The ending left a lot to be desired. Still a good book though.
Anonymous 24 days ago
Absolutely loved this series. The ending was awful for it being a trilogy. Was left just blah. With revelations in this book and the way things were left, well, there should be more in store....not ended.
Anonymous 11 months ago
He stopped, no sign of a river. He sighed.
Anonymous 11 months ago
"FIERY!" She called, trying to catch up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Silverwing padded in, savoring the scent of the prey rich forest. Sshe picke up the scent of many rabbits and followed it to a burrow. She role in some rabbit dung to disguise her scdnt and padded into the den very quietly. The burrow was filled with rabits, and she swiftly killed them all, since they were trapped. She picked them all up and carried them to camp.