Forgotten: A Novel

Forgotten: A Novel

4.6 28
by Catherine McKenzie
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“For fans of The Good Wife, Catherine McKenzie’s Forgotten is a pure, page-turning pleasure.”
—Gwendolen Gross, author of The Orphan Sister

“By turns hilarious and heart-tugging….A thoroughly enjoyable read!”
—Juliette Fay, author of Deep Down True

If your old

Overview

“For fans of The Good Wife, Catherine McKenzie’s Forgotten is a pure, page-turning pleasure.”
—Gwendolen Gross, author of The Orphan Sister

“By turns hilarious and heart-tugging….A thoroughly enjoyable read!”
—Juliette Fay, author of Deep Down True

If your old life vanished completely, should you try to get it back or create a whole new one? That’s the intriguing question at the heart of Catherine McKenzie’s Forgotten.  The smart, funny, and provocative story of a woman who returns home after being stranded for months in Africa by an earthquake only to find that everyone in her life believed she was dead and moved on, Forgotten is captivating and thought-provoking contemporary women’s fiction from the author of Arranged and Spin—a fresh and witty tale that will not be soon forgotten.

Editorial Reviews

Leah McLaren
“Imagine if Bridget Jones fell into a million little pieces, flew over the cuckoo’s nest, and befriended Lindsay Lohan along the way....”
Gwendolen Gross
“For fans of The Good Wife, Catherine McKenzie’s Forgotten is a pure page-turning pleasure that combines a clever premise, a compelling character, and law-meets-life to keep you entirely entranced. ”
Juliette Fay
“From her big city legal career to earthquake-battered Africa and back again, Emma’s whirlwind of location, circumstance and emotion involves many an unexpected twist. By turns hilarious and heart-tugging, we follow her on her most important journey-that of self-discovery. A thoroughly enjoyable read!”
Globe and Mail (Toronto) on Forgotten
“Forgotten is a clever, satisfying diversion of a book, but where McKenzie really excels is in the pacing....send[ing] the reader headlong through the pages to see if Emma gets to live happily ever after, near-death experience or not.”
SheKnows.com
“An engrossing novel from start to finish, Forgotten explores what happens when starting over isn’t exactly up to you.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062115423
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/16/2012
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
448
Sales rank:
181,295
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Catherine McKenzie was born and raised in Montreal, where she now practises law. Her novels Spin, Arranged, Forgotten, Hidden and Smoke have all been bestsellers and have been translated into numerous languages.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Forgotten 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
As Reviewed by Writer's Corner Emma asks herself that question in Catherine McKenzie’s latest novel Forgotten. Thank you to Catherine and William Morrow for sending me a copy of this novel. Synopsis: What would you do if all of the sudden circumstances take a drastic turn in your life? Emma Tupper tries to answer these questions after coming back from a trip to Africa that lasted longer than she thought it would. Once back from the airport she heads to her apartment to find out that the key does not work in the lock to her door. She goes to visit her neighbor who isn’t home, but a handsome stranger helps her out. It just so happens that this stranger happens to live in her apartment. How could this be? Then Emma finds out the worst news that she is considered missing presumed dead because the Africa trip to so long. Will her life ever be the same? My Thoughts: I cannot tell you how much I loved this novel! I didn’t know if I would be interested initially. I thought this novel would be about Emma’s trip to Africa and in a way it is. You learn a little about Emma’s trip throughout the book. Also the reason she took so long coming back. Emma is a very multifaceted character. She wears many hats: lawyer, daughter, girlfriend, and best friend. I found the story interesting how these roles changed some after her trip. The characters of Craig, Sophie, and Stephanie are flushed out a little more as the novel progresses with some startling results. All of these factors together made for an extremely interesting read.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings What would happen if you were gone for 6 months with no communication to those who you are close with? That was the big question that I came up with when thinking about this book. Emma endures the passing of her mom and ends up on an African trip that went from 1 month to 6 months due to illness, earthquake and adventure. When she gets back into the States, she has to deal with a world that moved on without her.
Anonymous 5 months ago
A great easy read. Fall in love right along with the amazingly strong Emma.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Xmyixnqyory
Dancingrandma More than 1 year ago
Excellent read!!! This book was wonderfully written and I just fell in love with it
Fredreeca2001 More than 1 year ago
Wonderful quick quirky read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BeckyLeJ More than 1 year ago
A wonderful and emotional read! Emma Tupper never wanted to go to Africa, that was her mother's dream. But her mother's dying wish was for Emma to travel to Tswanaland. She was supposed to be gone for just a month but an illness and then a tragic earthquake left Emma cut off from the outside world for a total of six months. Emma's return is something of a shock for everyone considering she was pronounced missing and presumed dead. Her apartment has been re rented and her possessions are gone. Fortunately, the new tenant is willing to help Emma out as she tries to set things right and rebuild her life.  I love McKenzie's work! Her stories are amazingly heartfelt without being sappy and her characters are real -- Emma, Anne of Arranged, and Kate of Spin, are the kinds of girls I'd be friends with. I connected with each of them and sympathized with them all.With Emma, I shared her frustrations and her sadness (yes, I teared up a little) as well as her elation over each accomplishment. I was left wondering how I'd react in her situation -- it's a scary prospect, being cut off from the world and facing the possibility of losing everything. I wonder if I'd reinvent myself, as Dominic suggests, or if I'd try to go back to life as normal. Who knows!There's so much emotion and depth in McKenzie's tales. She's quickly become one of my favorite must-read authors this year. Each new book has been an absolute joy to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Belongs to the Leader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SunflowerDays More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. It is well-written and kept my interest.
MichellePMP More than 1 year ago
I loved the concept of Forgotten. Being assumed dead and trying to step back into your life would be a challenge and Catherine McKenzie has thought of everything! Her writing is perfectly descriptive and her characters come to life immediately. Most of the conversations are smart and snappy just how I like it, but some just went on and on and on. All in all, a very good read.
PaulineMA More than 1 year ago
I totally enjoyed reading this book! I liked that it contained more than just the usual chick-lit type stuff. It had a little mystery, travel, romance and conflict. The main storyline is about Emma returning to her life only to find out she was presumed dead while being out of contact in Africa. But the storyline that hit me hardest was about the loss Emma has to deal with due to the death of her mother. I identified with that even though the death of my mother was very different.  How do you step back into your life and continue? Or do you use the opportunity to make major changes? Those are Emma's questions and it takes some time and some mistakes before she comes to see the road before her.  I liked that this kept me very interested but wasn't so deeply complex that it was difficult to read at the end of a busy day at work analyzing data. In fact, I felt like I could step into this story very easily and watch it unfold.  Now, on to find more Catherine McKenzie books!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Overalk I liked the book. I wished it had more of Domenick! The ending seems abrupt and I keep waiting fir Jenny to have her ah ha moment but not what i expected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
zoestoes More than 1 year ago
I love all three of Catherine McKenzie's books. My only complaint is that there are only three (as of this date). Keep writing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would love to see what becomes of Emma and Dominic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read from Catherine Mckenzie!