Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Frank D. Gilroy, Volume 2: 15 One-Act Plays

Frank D. Gilroy, Volume 2: 15 One-Act Plays

by Frank D. Gilroy

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Best known for the poignant family drama The Subject Was Roses (1964), which won him the Pulitzer Prize, the Tony Award, and the Drama Critics Circle Award, eminent playwright Gilroy presents seven full-length plays and 15 one-act plays in this two-volume anthology. Aside from Roses, the six full-length plays in Volume 1 include Who'll Save the Plowboy? (1962), an Obie Award winner; That Summer That Fall (1967); The Only Game in Town (1968); Last Licks (1979); Any Given Day (1993); and Contact with the Enemy (1999), a Drama Desk nominee. These plays all center on relationships either within close-knit family, between men and women, or between friends, comrades, or colleagues. Gilroy's keen observation of human nature is seen in his unflinching search for reality without sentimentality. His quick wit and poignant dialogs enhance the dramatic impact. The 15 one-act plays in the second volume were written between 1957 and 1999, mostly for Ensemble Studio Theatre Marathon productions in New York City. These plays reflect Gilroy's personal experiences. For example, Twas Brillig (1972), Real to Reel (1987), Give the Bishop My Faint Regards (1992), and Fore (1993) dramatize his screen-writing career, The Viewing (1957) his war experience, and Getting In (1957) his effort to enter Dartmouth College on the GI Bill. For each play, Gilroy gives the cast, director, and costumes, scenery, and lighting designers of the original production, an introduction tracing the creative process of the play, and excerpts from reviews. Gilroy's comprehensive coverage and introductions to his own works make this two-volume anthology a worthy acquisition for all public and academic libraries.--Ming-ming Shen Kuo,Ball State Univ. Lib., Muncie, IN Copyright 2000 Cahners Business Information.\

Product Details

Smith & Kraus, Inc.
Publication date:
Contemporary Playwrights Series
Edition description:
1 ED
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.47(h) x 0.50(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews