Franz Liszt, Volume 2: The Weimar Years, 1848-1861

Franz Liszt, Volume 2: The Weimar Years, 1848-1861

by Alan Walker

View All Available Formats & Editions

The second volume in Alan Walker's magisterial biography of Franz Liszt.See more details below


The second volume in Alan Walker's magisterial biography of Franz Liszt.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Alan Walker's biography of Liszt . . . has been widely hailed as a groundbreaking work of scholarship. . . . Not only did his dogged research correct numerous, mostly damaging preconceptions aobut Liszt, but his cogent musical analyses made the case for the importance of the music. . . . Love him or hate him as a saint or a sinner, Liszt still has the capacity to stir great passions . . . and Mr. Walker has done a great service in correcting many misconceptions and thus raising the question about the true character of Liszt."—Johanna Keller, The New York Times. January 14, 2001

"You can't help but keep turning the pages, wondering how it will all turn out: and Walker's accumulated readings of Liszt's music have to be taken seriously indeed."—D. Kern Holoman, New York Review of Books

"A conscientious scholar passionate about his subject. Mr. Walker makes the man and his age come to life. These three volumes will be the definitive work to which all subsequent Liszt biographies will aspire."—Harold C. Schonberg, Wall Street Journal

"What distinguishes Walker from Liszt's dozens of earlier biographers is that he is equally strong on the music and the life. A formidable musicologist with a lively polemical style, he discusses the composer's works with greater understanding and clarity than any previous biographer. And whereas many have recycled the same erroneous, often damaging information, Walker has relied on his own prodigious, globe-trotting research, a project spanning twenty-five years. The result is a textured portrait of Liszt and his times without rival."—Elliot Ravetz, Time

"The prose is so lively that the reader is often swept along by the narrative. . . . This three-part work . . . is now the definitive work on Liszt in English and belongs in all music collections."—Library Journal

Reprint of the Knopf edition of 1989 (still in print at $39.95). No new material has been added by Cornell U.P. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (

Read More

Product Details

Cornell University Press
Publication date:
Edition description:
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
6.10(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.71(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >