Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn and Made America a Democracy

Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn and Made America a Democracy

3.5 7
by Bruce Watson
     
 

A majestic history of the summer of '64, which forever changed race relations in America

In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers' shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended,

See more details below

Overview

A majestic history of the summer of '64, which forever changed race relations in America

In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers' shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended, three volunteers were dead, black churches had burned, and America had a new definition of freedom.

This remarkable chapter in American history, the basis for the controversial film Mississippi Burning, is now the subject of Bruce Watson's thoughtful and riveting historical narrative. Using in- depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi and the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state. Freedom Summer presents finely rendered portraits of the courageous black citizens-and Northern volunteers-who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life. Few books have provided such an intimate look at race relations during the deadliest days of the Civil Rights movement, and Freedom Summer will appeal to readers of Taylor Branch and Doug Blackmon.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780670021703
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/10/2010
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
6.54(w) x 9.42(h) x 1.27(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Table of Contents

Book One Crossroads 3

Prologue 5

Chapter One "There Is a Moral Wave Building" 15

Chapter Two "Not Even Past" 38

Chapter Three Freedom Street 56

Chapter Four "The Decisive Battlefield for America" 77

Chapter Five "It Is Sure Enough Changing" 105

Chapter Six "The Scars of the System" 129

Interlude: "Another So-Called áFreedom Day'" 152

Book Two A Bloody Peace Written in the Sky 167

Chapter Seven "Walk Together, Children" 169

Chapter Eight "The Summer of Our Discontent" 191

Chapter Nine "Lay by Time" 215

Chapter Ten "The Stuff Democracy Is Made Of" 237

Chapter Eleven "Give unto Them Beauty for Ashes" 262

Epilogue 277

Acknowledgments 301

Notes 303

Bibliography 341

Index 353

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >