From Tadpole to Frog: Following the Life Cycle

From Tadpole to Frog: Following the Life Cycle

by Suzanne Slade, Jeff Yesh
How many eggs does a wood frog lay? What does a tadpole eat? Hop through the pages of this book and discover the life cycle of a wood frog.


How many eggs does a wood frog lay? What does a tadpole eat? Hop through the pages of this book and discover the life cycle of a wood frog.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Della A. Yannuzzi
This science book about the life cycle of frogs begins with a brief and basic paragraph about frogs. The author tells the reader that there are more than 5,000 kinds of frogs, and the reader will learn about the life cycle of a wood frog. Life begins as an egg, then a tadpole, a froglet and finally an adult frog. Female wood frogs lay from 300 to more than 1,000 eggs at one time. She lays them in the water beside clusters of other eggs. Within the egg, a tadpole begins to grow, surrounded by a clear jelly. This jelly warms the eggs. Two weeks to a month later, a brown tadpole hatches. It breathes through gills. Within three months, a tadpole goes through a metamorphosis, or change. It develops from a legless tadpole to a tadpole with back legs, and then to four legs. The tail shrinks when legs develop. When wood frogs are about 2 years old, they become adults, find a pond and mate. The males croak loudly to attract the females. Frogs usually mate in the spring months. Eggs are laid in the pond and the life cycle begins again. Back material includes fun facts about frogs such as frogs don't need to drink water because it is absorbed through their skin. A glossary, list of books to read and Internet sites are included. Illustrations are big and colorful. Reviewer: Della A. Yannuzzi
School Library Journal

K-Gr 2

Each book introduces a well-known species before focusing on its life cycle. All of them have four stages except Puppy, which has three. Scientific terminology such as "metamorphosis," "dispersal," and "gestation period" is used. A concluding diagram of the entire cycle gives the approximate length of each stage and provides a tidy review of the content. Most spreads include an inset with additional material; "Fun Facts" add a little more information. Unfortunately, the digitally produced illustrations, a major part of the book, lack detail and offer no additional information.

Product Details

Capstone Press
Publication date:
Amazing Science: Life Cycles Series
Product dimensions:
10.20(w) x 10.00(h) x 0.30(d)
IG800L (what's this?)
Age Range:
6 - 9 Years

Meet the Author

Suzanne Slade is the author of 100 books for children, including many titles on science topics. Suzanne holds a Mechanical Engineering degree, and has worked on Delta IV rockets and car braking systems before beginning her writing career. She lives in a suburb of Chicago with her husband and two children.

Jeff Yesh is a freelance illustrator and graphic designer whose award-winning work has been featured in multiple children's books. As a freelance artist, he splits his time illustrating both fiction and non-fiction works enjoyed by all ages, in addition to designing material for a wide variety of clients in the advertising and sports industries. Born and raised in Indiana, Jeff graduated from Indiana State University with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design. Based in Carmel, Indiana, Jeff enjoys being active outdoors and spending time with his wife and two daughters.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >