From the Ashes

From the Ashes

3.7 567
by Jeremy Burns
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A DEADLY CONSPIRACY

Graduate students Jonathan and Michael Rickner, sons of eminent archaeologist Sir William Rickner, are no strangers to historical mysteries and archaeological adventures. But when Michael is discovered dead in his Washington, D.C. apartment, Jon refuses to believe the official ruling of suicide. Digging deeper into his brother's work, he

…  See more details below

Overview

A DEADLY CONSPIRACY

Graduate students Jonathan and Michael Rickner, sons of eminent archaeologist Sir William Rickner, are no strangers to historical mysteries and archaeological adventures. But when Michael is discovered dead in his Washington, D.C. apartment, Jon refuses to believe the official ruling of suicide. Digging deeper into his brother's work, he discovers evidence that Michael was murdered to keep his dissertation research buried.

A DEVASTATING NATIONAL SECRET

Joined by Michael's fiancée Mara Ellison, Jon travels to New York where he uncovers the threads of a deadly Depression-era conspiracy - one entangling the Hoover Administration, the Rockefellers, and the rise of Nazi Germany - and the elite cadre of assassins that still guard its unspeakable secret.

THE LABYRINTHINE PATH TO THE TRUTH

Finding themselves in the crosshairs of the same men who killed Michael, Jon and Mara must navigate a complex web of historical cover-ups and modern-day subterfuge, outwitting and outrunning their all-powerful pursuers as they race through the monuments and museums of Manhattan in a labyrinthine treasure hunt to discover the last secret of John D. Rockefeller, Jr., before their enemies can bury the truth - and them - forever.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781611880946
Publisher:
Story Plant
Publication date:
09/10/2013
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
394
Sales rank:
1,362,356
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.10(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Jeremy Burns is a former educator and journalist who holds degrees in History and Computer Science. He taught literature, political science, creative writing, and philosophy at an international school in Dubai, and has traveled to more than twenty countries across four continents. When not exploring a new corner of the globe, he lives in Florida, where he is working on his next novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

From the Ashes 3.7 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 567 reviews.
Bunny84 More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to finish the book! I feel as if I know the characters and I am in the chase with them! This author's use of imagery is BRILLIANT! Definitely going to be a movie!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Greatly written and holds no bounds
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great reading, suspenseful, well written! Can't believe the ignorant people giving 1 or 2 stars, because they can't get on their nook. That is their problem, not the author's! Get a brain...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading this 3 hours ago and I cannot put it down! I haven't finished it yet, but I already love this book. This is a "double-dose" book for me. This means I will definitely be reading this book more than once, ie; a double dose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A book for fans of Steve Berry and Raymond Khoury, From The Ashes is well-written and impeccably researched with great characters and a conspiracy that is frightening in both its implications and plausibility. Jeremy Burns is an author to watch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome! Definitely a must-read for anyone who loves thrillers! It's the perfect balance of history and fiction that makes you wonder if it could actually be true. And after reading it, you'll never look at New York City the same! I can't wait to read more from Jeremy Burns!
Suziemoo More than 1 year ago
As a first time user of free Friday I was hesitant as to whether I would like this or not but it was awesome! What an amazing twist, easily as good as the Divinci Code for me...I am now a Jeremy Burns fan and am seeking out his books.
DeliaBacon More than 1 year ago
Jeremy Burns promises to be an exciting author; I want to read his next book. I was captivated by this thriller, and even more by the way Burns thinks outside the box. His historically accurate passages will turn even the most historic-phobic to a fascination gives a well-grounded understanding of how individual actions can, and do, change the world in real ways. Some facets of Jeremy's literary bridging were weak. I learned some real information I hadn't known before. And was interested to learn that the statement "What doesn't kill you makes you stronger" IS accurately attributed to Johann Wolfgang von Goethe vice Nietzsche. I also expected to learn at every turn that the Rockefeller's had filed suit for defamation to the character of NYC's philanthropic hero; the follow-on declamation was welcomed. It makes me want to look at NYC's landmarks in a new light! Good job, Jeremy.
the_curious_reader More than 1 year ago
As a novel, From the Ashes follows a formulaic path. If you loved National Treasure and cannot wait to read a new Steve Berry novel, this one is for you. As an addendum to the fictional content, pages 104 through 114 give a nicely condensed history regarding the events leading up to World Wars I and II worth reading and pondering, even bookmarking. As a precautionary note, be careful to avoid confusing history with fiction. The author draws subtly visible lines delineating which is which. Having read this book, you might be moved to do some research of your own. You may encounter more erudite material, but nothing more concise than those eight pages. Readers will find as well interesting information about New York City and the Rockefellers throughout the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great thriller for those who love adventure and a good twist
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like Dan Brown you will enjoy this book as well. A slow build up of characters background and plot, then a fast pased adventure through New York and a satisfying ending. Who could ask for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this immensely, very pleasantly surprised since it was a "Free Friday" selection.
Brookeish More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this read thoroughly. Though it dragged a little here and there I felt that the overall story line and twists were great. I like a good surprise and I felt that you never know what is being hidden for your best interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. There are a lot of swear words though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was hoping for a Da Vinci Code-esque thrill ride, and while it didn't QUITE deliver that, it was still a pretty worthwhile read. Looking forward to more from this author! Pros: interesting plot kept me engaged; an interesting tour of NY landmarks Cons: author constantly recycles the characters' motivations, meals, etc., which feels like page-filler
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story was too easy to figure out, especially when it went DaVinci Code on the places in New York and clues - even the good cop/bad cop was formulaic. Much information repeated - but I did get to the end - even though I scanned the last 100 pages. Very happy it was Free Friday.
LoraLu More than 1 year ago
A great story, with a bit of history from WWI-WW2, how Hitler came to power. The main premise is a search for hidden papers with multiple clues throughout New York. All while being chased by a secret government agency who kill to keep the papers secret. So much more, but don't want to tell you the whole story or give anything away. Read It!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Snags one's interest in the beginning, but becomes wordy, and ultimately, reminiscent of a Nancy Drew story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poorly written and boring book. I wish I had the time I spent slogging through this book back. I could have squandered it more effectively in some other manner. I kept expecting it to at least try to get interesting or introduce some plot point that wasn't ludicrous but it disappointed me at every opportunity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jeremy Burns kept me interested from the beginning. His writing almost made you believe that this really happened. Since I have been to New York City I could relate to the different places the book visited. I would recommend this book to any one that likes suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Someone mentioned a new editor needed. I'm thinking there never was one. Trite, predictable, juvenile with strange dialog considering the situation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tried very hard to like this book, but I was so bored with it in the end I didnt even finish it. Very much a cookie cutter formula, like many others I have read.
BckyRN More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately I had no trouble finding the book on my nook. If the author had condensed some of the explanation, would have been a much better book. A good editor would have helped.
Robert_Liparulo More than 1 year ago
I love this stuff--history, uncovered secrets, assassins trying to keep people quiet, a race to expose the truth and find justice--especially when it's done right...and From the Ashes is done right. Lots of action, characters I love...and love to hate...a plot that's linked to history, conspiracy and reality. Too much fun! I couldn’t put it down. Based on this debut, Jeremy Burns is now one of those rare authors whose stories I will buy sight unseen. With this one, he proves himself a more-than-capable researcher and storyteller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you can get through the prologue, you might enjoy this cliche and cumbersome novel. However I found it tedious, over written, and unengaging. One star.