BN.com Gift Guide

From the Shadows: The Complete Series

Overview

The Popular Web Serial Comes to Print!

Presented by iPulpFiction.com

As he is about to unleash a technological revolution that could threaten the world, a reclusive former child prodigy leads two teens and a young reporter on an odyssey that will explore the boundaries of reality, time, and what it means to be human.

Author KB Shaw creates a story from the not so distant future. This is a book aimed at young ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (4) from $6.97   
  • New (2) from $9.89   
  • Used (2) from $6.97   
From the Shadows: The Complete Series

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

The Popular Web Serial Comes to Print!

Presented by iPulpFiction.com

As he is about to unleash a technological revolution that could threaten the world, a reclusive former child prodigy leads two teens and a young reporter on an odyssey that will explore the boundaries of reality, time, and what it means to be human.

Author KB Shaw creates a story from the not so distant future. This is a book aimed at young adults although not limited to them. It explores the leap into quantum computing. Cameron and Rosa are two 15 year old cyber geeks that apply to and are accepted into a new cyberschool. This story mixes the empathy for the characters of the Harry Potter stories and the politics of the X-Men. This series has a chance to make it big if it gets a chance.

- SFReader.com

The storyline is fast paced, a book hard to put down. It's clever, with mischievous interplay among the characters, fun, creative and intelligent, with scientific and historic details interspersed throughout. True to science fiction form it evokes the spirit of darkness as evil, the shadow, the phantom that slowly emerges. There's a touch of A Wrinkle in Time as this darkness grows and a sense of 2001: a Space Odyssey and the computer Hal, all with a bit of Dickens' ghost, the specter of Christmas past. A great read.

- Barb Cutler, St. Joseph School Library, Seattle, WA

Shaw has written a relevant and compelling story. In the tradition of Harry Potter and Ender Wiggin, we see a child prodigy. Only this time there is a twist. The prodigy is all grown up. Shaw brilliantly weaves technology, humor, and romance into a hip, age-blind novel. Unlike Harry Potter, most of Shaw's world is realistic and plausible. Children will be able to relate to Cameron and Rosa. As Cameron and Rosa learn not only life lessons but also history lessons so will the reader. Shaw has a winner here.

- Budd Black, Boston Science Fiction Book Club

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Nashville Science Fiction Book Club - Bud Black
Shaw has written a relevant and compelling story. In the tradition of Harry Potter and Ender Wiggin, we see a child prodigy. Only this time there is a twist. The prodigy is all grown up. Shaw brilliantly weaves technology, humor, and romance into a hip, age-blind novel.
Barnes & Noble's Explorations science fiction/fantasy book review - Paul Goat Allen
I won't be surprised if the name KB Shaw emerges from the shadows into the limelight of the young adult publishing world.
St. Joseph School Library, Seattle, WA - Barb Cutler
The storyline is fast paced, a book hard to put down. It's clever, with mischievous interplay among the characters, fun, creative and intelligent, with scientific and historic details interspersed throughout. True to science fiction form it evokes the spirit of darkness as evil, the shadow, the phantom that slowly emerges … A great read.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781494850784
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
  • Publication date: 3/3/2014
  • Pages: 324
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 0.73 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)