Frozen Tracks (Erik Winter Series #5)

Frozen Tracks (Erik Winter Series #5)

5.0 2
by Åke Edwardson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

From the land of the midnight sun, a compelling and dark thriller by Sweden?s master of crime fiction:

The autumn gloom comes quickly on the Swedish city of Gothenburg, and for Detective Chief Inspector Erik Winter the days seem even shorter, the nights bleaker, when he is faced with two apparently unrelated sets of perplexing crimes. Mysterious assaults

Overview

From the land of the midnight sun, a compelling and dark thriller by Sweden?s master of crime fiction:

The autumn gloom comes quickly on the Swedish city of Gothenburg, and for Detective Chief Inspector Erik Winter the days seem even shorter, the nights bleaker, when he is faced with two apparently unrelated sets of perplexing crimes. Mysterious assaults on college students in Gothenburg?s parks are carried out in the dark of the night, while during the day toddlers are abducted from their nursery schools and quickly returned, seemingly unharmed, before anyone even notices they are missing.

Investigating these bizarre cases, D.C.I. Winter and his team follow their scant leads to ?the flats,? the barren prairies of rural Sweden, whose wastelands conceal crimes as sinister as the land itself. Winter must deduce the labyrinthine connections between the cases before the culprit?or is it culprits??closes in on his own family.

Haunting and psychologically astute, Frozen Tracks is another triumph from the award- winning master of Swedish noir.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

The reader stays perpetually ahead of the irritatingly slow detectives in Swedish crime writer Edwardson's third Erik Winter police procedural to be translated into English (after 2006's Never End). DCI Erik Winter and his team are baffled by a rash of beatings in Gothenburg that have nearly killed several young men, who are linked only by the distinctive mark left by the attacker's mysterious weapon. Meanwhile, nursery school children begin to report being lured to the car of a strange "mister," who gives them candy. The police brush off these incidents until one boy is found badly beaten in the woods. Soon Winter is thrown into a race to save a kidnapped boy from the clutches of a monster. Readers will connect the dots faster than Winter, whose investigation is jarringly interrupted by scenes from the abductor's point-of-view. The denouement leaves too many loose ends, making for an uninspired take on the tired topic of child abductions. (Aug.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
Houston Chronicle
A child finally is horribly hurt. After more scrupulous interviews (this time with nervous, distracted children), the two cases begin inexorably to merge. Piercing attention, anxiety wound tight — Edwardson is a master at this. And if he pushes it too far, with a finale drawn out past all endurance, this doesn't discount the satisfaction in visiting his inspectors' gray world.
Bookpage
Fans of Henning Mankell and Karin Fossum (as well as Ian Rankin and Donna Leon) will find a great new friend in Edwardson.
Library Journal

This third translation in Swedish author Edwardson's Erik Winter series (after Sun and Shadowand Never End) follows Winter and his colleagues at Gothenburg's police department as they follow two cases. The first is a series of violent assaults against college men-the other odd reports from young children about a "mister" who entices them with candy to sit in his car. Edwardson uses the daily musings of the supporting characters-Winter's girlfriend and his co-workers-to round out the narrative, and it is their personalities and reflections on work and parenting that make the narrative compelling. In addition to the intertwined cases, Edwardson also creates additional levels of suspense: a major concern is whether Winter will solve the cases in time to join his lover and daughter in Spain for at least a part of the Christmas holidays, and the mystery behind his colleague's family dispute is a page-turner as well. Recommended for all public libraries.
—Julie Elliott

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780143113584
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/28/2008
Series:
Erik Winter Series , #5
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
670,288
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Åke Edwardson is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers. He has won numerous awards, including the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers’ Award three times.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Frozen Tracks (Erik Winter Series #5) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think you should continue the story in a different result. I want to find out what happens to the kit!! I NEED TO KNOW! btw it was a great beginning to a story!