Frozen Tracks (Erik Winter Series #5)

( 2 )

Overview

From the land of the midnight sun, a compelling and dark thriller by Sweden's master of crime fiction:

The autumn gloom comes quickly on the Swedish city of Gothenburg, and for Detective Chief Inspector Erik Winter the days seem even shorter, the nights bleaker, when he is faced with two apparently unrelated sets of perplexing crimes. Mysterious assaults on college students in Gothenburg's parks are carried out in the dark of the night, while during the day toddlers are abducted...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$13.89
BN.com price
(Save 13%)$16.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (31) from $1.99   
  • New (6) from $8.91   
  • Used (25) from $1.99   
Frozen Tracks (Erik Winter Series #5)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

From the land of the midnight sun, a compelling and dark thriller by Sweden's master of crime fiction:

The autumn gloom comes quickly on the Swedish city of Gothenburg, and for Detective Chief Inspector Erik Winter the days seem even shorter, the nights bleaker, when he is faced with two apparently unrelated sets of perplexing crimes. Mysterious assaults on college students in Gothenburg's parks are carried out in the dark of the night, while during the day toddlers are abducted from their nursery schools and quickly returned, seemingly unharmed, before anyone even notices they are missing.

Investigating these bizarre cases, D.C.I. Winter and his team follow their scant leads to 'the flats,' the barren prairies of rural Sweden, whose wastelands conceal crimes as sinister as the land itself. Winter must deduce the labyrinthine connections between the cases before the culprit-or is it culprits??closes in on his own family.

Haunting and psychologically astute, Frozen Tracks is another triumph from the award- winning master of Swedish noir.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

The reader stays perpetually ahead of the irritatingly slow detectives in Swedish crime writer Edwardson's third Erik Winter police procedural to be translated into English (after 2006's Never End). DCI Erik Winter and his team are baffled by a rash of beatings in Gothenburg that have nearly killed several young men, who are linked only by the distinctive mark left by the attacker's mysterious weapon. Meanwhile, nursery school children begin to report being lured to the car of a strange "mister," who gives them candy. The police brush off these incidents until one boy is found badly beaten in the woods. Soon Winter is thrown into a race to save a kidnapped boy from the clutches of a monster. Readers will connect the dots faster than Winter, whose investigation is jarringly interrupted by scenes from the abductor's point-of-view. The denouement leaves too many loose ends, making for an uninspired take on the tired topic of child abductions. (Aug.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
Houston Chronicle
A child finally is horribly hurt. After more scrupulous interviews (this time with nervous, distracted children), the two cases begin inexorably to merge. Piercing attention, anxiety wound tight — Edwardson is a master at this. And if he pushes it too far, with a finale drawn out past all endurance, this doesn't discount the satisfaction in visiting his inspectors' gray world.
Bookpage
Fans of Henning Mankell and Karin Fossum (as well as Ian Rankin and Donna Leon) will find a great new friend in Edwardson.
Library Journal

This third translation in Swedish author Edwardson's Erik Winter series (after Sun and Shadowand Never End) follows Winter and his colleagues at Gothenburg's police department as they follow two cases. The first is a series of violent assaults against college men-the other odd reports from young children about a "mister" who entices them with candy to sit in his car. Edwardson uses the daily musings of the supporting characters-Winter's girlfriend and his co-workers-to round out the narrative, and it is their personalities and reflections on work and parenting that make the narrative compelling. In addition to the intertwined cases, Edwardson also creates additional levels of suspense: a major concern is whether Winter will solve the cases in time to join his lover and daughter in Spain for at least a part of the Christmas holidays, and the mystery behind his colleague's family dispute is a page-turner as well. Recommended for all public libraries.
—Julie Elliott

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780143113584
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 10/28/2008
  • Series: Erik Winter Series , #5
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 285,735
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.30 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Meet the Author

Åke Edwardson is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers. He has won numerous awards, including the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers’ Award three times.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    ...

    I think you should continue the story in a different result. I want to find out what happens to the kit!! I NEED TO KNOW! btw it was a great beginning to a story!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)