Game On! (Squish Series #5)

Game On! (Squish Series #5)

4.5 2
by Jennifer L. Holm
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Introducing Squish-a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse! Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School, and Jarrett Krosoczka's Lunch Lady. Beep! Beep! Squish can't get enough of his awesome new video

Overview

Introducing Squish-a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse! Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School, and Jarrett Krosoczka's Lunch Lady. Beep! Beep! Squish can't get enough of his awesome new video game Mitosis! (Mitosis is what happens when cells divide. Who says video games can't be educational?) In fact, he may even be obsessed! He plays at home . . . at school. . . even in his sleep! Are video games taking over Squish's life?! And can Squish's favorite comic book hero, Super Amoeba, stop the Creeping Black Mold that's taking over Small Pond? Find out in Squish #5: Game On-saving the world, one cell at a time! Yowza! You can draw comics, too! Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters! Also includes instructions for a sensational science experiment you can do at home! Shazam! Here's what people are saying about everyone's favorite amoeba! New York Times: "An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy." Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews: * "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does." The Bulletin: "A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure."

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
New York Times:
"An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy."

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews:

• "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does."
 
The Bulletin:
"A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure."

Children's Literature - Raina Sedore
Squish discovers video games! In the fifth "Squish" book, Squish learns a lesson about addiction and time management. Squish's best friends are both really far ahead of him in the new hot handheld game. Will Squish ever catch up? And what about the homework he is supposed to be doing instead? Told in black and white and green (with grayscale sections depicting a comic within the comic), Jennifer and Matthew Holm maintain the goofy sensibility that has made Babymouse and Squish famous. The silly illustrations of Squish and his friends navigating an anthropomorphized world are supplemented with arrows throughout the story commenting on the action or characters (i.e. "So cheerful she makes kittens jump over rainbows."). Although there is a short spread at the end showing how to see rainbows using a glass of water and a piece of paper, there is hardly any scientific content in the core story, besides the identities of the characters (i.e. the teacher is a Euglena). This is a fun story about very common modern childhood challenges, but do not expect hardcore scientific content here. Reviewer: Raina Sedore
Kirkus Reviews
School assignments, sleep and even Super Amoeba comics go by the wayside when protozoan protagonist Squish is "infected" by a video game. Seeing best buddies Pod and Peggy mildly addicted to "Mitosis," Squish spends birthday money for his own copy and maniacally proceeds to work his way past the game's dozens of levels through sleepless nights and dazed days. Presented as usual in simply drawn, thick-lined panels with green highlights, the episode makes its point by switching from views of the bleary, unwashed victim to screen after screen after screen ("Uh, are you as bored as me?" the occasionally intrusive narrator interjects) of heavily pixelated cells dividing. These culminate at last in an equally pixelated nightmare and a "GAME OVER." Fixation likewise. Happily, there's no permanent harm done, as Squish has an English teacher who slips him a makeup assignment to cover a late book report and a dad so cool that he later accompanies his blobby son in costume to a comics convention that just happens to feature the (unnamed but recognizable) "creators of Babymouse." Funny and snarky as ever, with a cautionary but reassuring message that this common malady will, like most childhood colds and fevers, run its course naturally without outside intervention. (science project, drawing page) (Graphic novel. 7-9)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780385377362
Publisher:
Random House Childrens Books
Publication date:
05/28/2013
Series:
Squish Series , #5
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
386,112
File size:
46 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

What People are saying about this

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews, March 1, 2013:
“Funny and snarky as ever.”

Meet the Author

Brother-and-sister team MATTHEW "InkBoy" HOLM and JENNIFER "WriterGirl" HOLM are the dashing duo behind the award-winning Babymouse series. In addition to fighting the forces of evil, Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Game On! 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love squish and i made one on my own and it was called squish the evil twins and it was no.7
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE the book