×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Gathering Deep
     

Gathering Deep

3.5 2
by Lisa Maxwell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Chloe Sabourin’s world was turned upside down three times over when she learned that the unspeakable murders in her native New Orleans—the ones that nearly claimed the life of her friend Lucy—were committed by her own mother, the dark witch Thisbe. Moving on from that is the toughest thing she’s ever had to do. Now a new series of ritualistic

Overview

Chloe Sabourin’s world was turned upside down three times over when she learned that the unspeakable murders in her native New Orleans—the ones that nearly claimed the life of her friend Lucy—were committed by her own mother, the dark witch Thisbe. Moving on from that is the toughest thing she’s ever had to do. Now a new series of ritualistic killings suggests that Thisbe is plotting again. Chloe seeks help from the mysterious Mama Legba, even though she’s unsure whether or not she can trust the Voodoo Queen. But when her boyfriend Piers vanishes, all signs point to Thisbe, and Chloe must quickly learn all she can from Mama Legba to save the one person she has left . . . even if it means bringing down her mother.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Gathering Deep is a stunningly intricate and fascinating masterpiece."—VOYA “Offers psychological melodrama and ghoulish thrills.”—Kirkus Reviews "Maxwell's novel excels in its heady, Southern-drenched mood."—School Library Journal "Fans of gothic horror will eagerly flock to this spooky sequel."—Booklist
VOYA, October 2015 (Vol. 38, No. 4) - Mary Kusluch
Gathering Deep is a stunningly intricate and fascinating masterpiece. Chloe, her boyfriend Piers, and their trusted circle of friends are all deeply connected to the spirit realm. At the beginning, readers are told that Chloe must make a choice. Only after many mysteries and dangers have been waded through do readers find out what that terrible choice is. This is a wonderful and captivating read. Reviewer: Mary Kusluch, Teen Reviewer; Ages 15 to Adult.
VOYA, October 2015 (Vol. 38, No. 4) - Nancy K. Wallace
Chloe Samourin’s mother, Thisbe, has been tied to several gruesome murders in New Orleans. Thisbe remains missing, but the symbolic murders continue. Chloe; her boyfriend, Piers; and her friend, Lucy, ask for help from Mama Legba, a woman skilled in voodoo. Chloe begins having strange dreams and visions in which she appears to be reliving Thisbe’s life from another century. A picture emerges of a young girl who is terrorized by a cruel and sadistic plantation owner, Roman Dutilette. Lucy’s father directs the research team studying Le Ciel Doux, the restored plantation and tourist attraction where Roman once ruled with an iron hand. When Roman’s journal turns up, Piers goes to Nashville for help in deciphering it. Piers never arrives, however, and Chloe fears that he, too, is dead at her mother’s hand. Dark, sultry, and atmospheric, this novel yanks the reader inexorably into the story and does not let go. A cast of unique characters drives the narrative with a twisting plot that keeps readers guessing until the very end. The backdrop of New Orleans brings its own spectacular flavor, color, and ambiance. The journal and Chloe’s visions reveal horrifying details about slavery under Roman’s rule. Thisbe’s quest to kill him three times in over a hundred years in retribution for the sadistic murder of her lover drives her to the point of insanity. She has Chloe simply to become a vessel for her own fading soul, kept alive, by blood sacrifices, in hopes of bringing her murdered lover back from the dead. This novel will find just as many adult fans as teens. Reviewer: Nancy K. Wallace; Ages 15 to Adult.
School Library Journal
09/01/2015
Gr 6 Up—More of a companion novel than a sequel to Sweet Unrest (Flux, 2014), Maxwell's latest focuses on Chloe and Thisbe in this atmospheric fantastical mystery. Reeling from the aftermath of finding out that the evil witch Thisbe is her mother, Chloe becomes determined to sever all ties with Thisbe's dark magic. When her on-off boyfriend, Piers, vanishes on his way to deliver a historical artifact, Chloe knows that Thisbe is behind his disappearance. Enlisting the help of friend Lucy, voodoo queen Mama Legba, and Mama Legba's nephew Odane, the protagonist gathers all her strength in order to conquer Thisbe's nefarious influence. The narrative is peppered with fascinating voodoo rituals and beliefs, heightening the suspense. As with Sweet Unrest, Maxwell's novel excels in its heady, Southern-drenched mood. VERDICT Recommended for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Little, Brown, 2011) and William Ritter's Jackaby (Algonquin, 2014).—Amanda C. Buschmann, Atascocita Middle School, Humble, TX
Kirkus Reviews
2015-07-15
Magical mother-daughter bonds prove tough to sever in this sequel to the Southern gothic Sweet Unrest (2014). Recently possessed Chloe Sabourin is reeling from her unwitting role in the recent murders and dark magic that rocked New Orleans and devastated by the discovery that her mother, Mina, is the witch Thisbe. Chloe fears further manipulation and questions her newfound magical powers but finds allies in her friend Lucy Aimes, mixed-magic practitioner Mama Legba, and Legba's flirtatious nephew, Odane. Less helpful are Chloe's preoccupied boyfriend, Piers, and Odane's icky father, Ikenna, whose warped idea of family ties echoes Thisbe's. Missing her own mother and ignoring Mama's advice, Chloe learns about Thisbe—a former 19th-century slave longing for her lost love, Augustine, and locked in an eternal battle with psychotic slave owner Roman Dutilette—through convenient touch-induced flashbacks and frequent nightmares. Chloe's struggle to separate herself from her mother gains urgency when Chloe must stop Thisbe from summoning Baron Samedi—darkly delightful but vaguely defined as a demon, a Loa, and a trickster psychopomp—and fight her mother in order to save her friends. While the inconsistent use of dialect and magical catchall version of Voodoo prove distracting and insensitive, Maxwell's mixture of past and present, dreams and reality, speech and telepathy is immersive and delirious. Mommy dearest's deal with the devil offers psychological melodrama and ghoulish thrills. (Paranormal suspense. 14-18)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780738745428
Publisher:
North Star Editions
Publication date:
10/08/2015
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
1,398,972
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
12 - 18 Years

Meet the Author

Lisa Maxwell (Washington, D.C.) is a debut author. When she's not writing books, she teaches English at a local college. She lives with her very patient husband and two not-so-patient boys.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Gathering Deep 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
COBauer More than 1 year ago
GATHERING DEEP by Lisa Maxwell is a compelling, & beautifully written sequel to SWEET UNREST. I thoroughly enjoyed the continuation of this story from Chloe's perspective. I loved learning what really makes Thisbe tick. Maxwell does a spectacular job of establishing the personality of a city. Every page dripped with the historic, spooky, and downright other-worldly atmosphere of New Orleans. The arc of the story was well crafted, as well. Definitely recommend. Look forward to reading more from this author.
eternalised More than 1 year ago
I hadn’t read “Sweet Unrest”, the prequel yet, when I started this book. However, I could follow most of the story. Chloe was an all right character, but it took a while before I could connect to her. The story itself was intriguing though, and I finished this in one sitting. If not for how flat the characters were, and how hard it was to connect to the heroine, I would’ve given this a higher rating. I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.