Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Get on the Bus

Get on the Bus


See All Formats & Editions

The soundtrack Get on the Bus, Spike Lee's tribute to the Million Man March of 1995, is comprised of new songs from soul and hip-hop arrists as diverse as Curtis Mayfield, D'Angelo, Stevie Wonder, Doug E. Fresh,


The soundtrack Get on the Bus, Spike Lee's tribute to the Million Man March of 1995, is comprised of new songs from soul and hip-hop arrists as diverse as Curtis Mayfield, D'Angelo, Stevie Wonder, Doug E. Fresh, Blackstreet, the Neville Brothers, Guru and Earth, Wind & Fire. Nearly every song is loosely tied into the film's theme of Black Empowerment and social liberation. Even with an explicit political agenda on hand, the music rarely sinks into dogma, simply because these musicians are too talented for that. Much of the music here is first-rate, and the album holds together because of its diversity, not in spite of it. One complaint: Though the advertisements mention it prominently, the song Michael Jackson wrote explicitly for Get on the Bus is left off the soundtrack, per the King of Pop's orders.

Product Details

Release Date:
Interscope Records

Related Subjects


  1. Shabooyah (Roll Call)
  2. Destiny Is Calling
  3. Tonite's the Nite
  4. The Remedy
  5. Girl You Need a Change of Mind
  6. Redemption Song
  7. New World Order
  8. Over a Million Strong
  9. My Life Is in Your Hands
  10. I Love My Woman
  11. Cruisin'
  12. Welcome
  13. Coming Home to You
  14. Ayindé's Speech

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Philip Bailey   Vocals,Background Vocals
Earth, Wind & Fire   Track Performer
Curtis Mayfield   Vocals,Track Performer
Aaron Neville   Vocals,Background Vocals
Art Neville   Piano
Bill Meyers   Synthesizer
Charles Neville   Saxophone
Dunn Pearson   Keyboards
Edwin Rodriguez   Conga
Blackstreet   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Guru   Vocals,Track Performer
Tribe Called Quest   Track Performer
Tawatha Agee   Background Vocals
Carl Carwell   Background Vocals
Lenny Castro   Percussion
D'Angelo   Vocals,Track Performer
Sonny Emory   Drums
Basil Fearrington   Bass
Kirk Franklin   Keyboards,Vocals,Track Performer
Doug E. Fresh   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Randy Hall   Electric Guitar
Bobette Jamison-Harrison   Background Vocals
Scott Mayo   Saxophone
Cyril Neville   Background Vocals
Morris Pleasure   Keyboards
Sheldon Reynolds   Guitar,Background Vocals
David Romero   Percussion
Robert "Spud" Searight   Keyboards
Fonzi Thornton   Background Vocals
Verdine White   Bass
Stevie Wonder   Track Performer
Del Atkins   Piano
Ed Moore   Guitar
Lawrence Farrel   Drums
God's Property   Background Vocals,Track Performer
Rosemary Woods   Background Vocals
Brian Fleming   Background Vocals
Carl Burnett   Acoustic Guitar
Jeff Lee   Background Vocals
Jason Neville   Background Vocals
George Fortin   Guitar
Charles Pettaway   Background Vocals
Nick Daniels   Bass
Jimmy Randolph   Synthesizer
Raimundo Thomas   Background Vocals
Miss Jones   Background Vocals
Shaun Martin   Keyboards
R.C. Williams   Organ
Marc Dorsey   Vocals,Track Performer
Marvin Davis   Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Raymond Jones   Piano,Drums,Keyboards
Michael Parenti   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part

Technical Credits

Curtis Mayfield   Producer
Maurice White   Producer
Earl Thomas   Engineer
Guru   Producer,Remixing
Tony Brown   Engineer
Leonard Caston   Composer
Sonny Emory   drum programming
Larry Ferguson   Engineer
Kirk Franklin   Producer
Carlos Glover   Producer,Engineer
Chauncey Hannibal   Producer
Clark Kent   Producer,drum programming
James Mtume   Producer
Don Murray   Engineer
Cyril Neville   Producer,drum programming
Derrick Perkins   Programming
Teddy Riley   Producer
Shavoni   Producer
Gary Thompson   Contributor
Sprague Williams   Engineer
Stevie Wonder   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Serban Ghenea   Engineer
Del Atkins   drum programming
Mike Fennel   Engineer
Femi Jiya   Engineer,Contributor
George Meyers   Engineer
Kenny Ortíz   Engineer
Rick St. Hillaire   Engineer
Rosemary Woods   Producer
Brian Fleming   Producer
Ummah   Producer,Engineer
Spike Lee   Executive Producer
Helix Hadar   Engineer
Julius McKelvey   Engineer
Rodger Poché   Engineer
Joe Quide   Engineer
Nick Daniels   Producer
Jimmy Randolph   Programming
Tom Rigione   Engineer,Contributor
Omari Neville   drum programming
Anita Poree   Composer
Kamaal Fareed   Composer
Leo Swift Morris   Engineer
Buster   Producer,Engineer
John Hanes   Engineer
Raymond Jones   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
James Yancey   Composer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews