×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ghost Flower
     

Ghost Flower

4.2 5
by Michele Jaffe
 

See All Formats & Editions

Eve, a runaway, finds a new job at a coffee shop on the outskirts of Tuscon. When she's approached by two wealthy teens who claim she bears an uncanny resemblance to their missing cousin Aurora, her life takes a turn for the dark and mysterious. Drawn into a scheme to win Aurora's inheritance, Eve finds herself impersonating the girl, who disappeared three years ago

Overview

Eve, a runaway, finds a new job at a coffee shop on the outskirts of Tuscon. When she's approached by two wealthy teens who claim she bears an uncanny resemblance to their missing cousin Aurora, her life takes a turn for the dark and mysterious. Drawn into a scheme to win Aurora's inheritance, Eve finds herself impersonating the girl, who disappeared three years ago on the night her best friend Elizabeth died. But when Liza's ghost begins to haunt Eve, doing harm to the people close to her under the guise of "protecting" her, Eve finds herself in a nightmare maze of lies and deception that leads her to question even her own identity. She realizes her only chance is to uncover the truth about what happened the night Liza died, and to find Liza's killer - before she's next.

This teen thriller by Michele Jaffe will keep readers turning pages well into the night.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Jaffe (Rosebush) tends to focus on the interior lives of her protagonists, rather than the external events of the plot, for the pacing in her thrillers. It works with an honest character, drawing readers in as emotions unfold and deeply held fears are realized. But with an unreliable narrator like Eve Brightman/Aurora Silverton, readers are warned from the start to withhold trust. Without the page-turning tension of either emotional involvement or event, what’s left is a litany of wealth and spite. Living in squalor, Eve agrees to an impersonation—she will pretend to be Aurora, a cousin of Bain and Bridgette Silverton who has been missing for three years, in return for a cut of Aurora’s inheritance, due when she turns 18 in three months. Aurora is believed to have run away when her best friend Liza committed suicide, but no one really knows. Upon “Aurora’s” dramatic return, the dire warnings of a hired medium set up the haunting that follows, with Aurora being visited by Liza’s ghost, and the interdependence of money and fraud continues to the end. Ages 14–up. (Apr.)
VOYA - Lauri J. Vaughan
Eve Brightman is not her real name. It is the name on the false ID that enables her to hide an unhappy past and maintain a hand-to-mouth existence sans questions. When the ultra-rich Silverton siblings, Bain and Bridgette, offer her a fortune to pose as their missing cousin Aurora long enough to collect the heiress's estate, Eve accepts. She quickly discovers there is more to Aurora's disappearance than an elderly matriarch, and a skeleton in every closet in the Silverton family compound. To begin with, her best friend, Liza, died the same night Aurora disappeared three years ago. The death has been ruled a suicide, but circumstances are murky. Things get even weirder when Liza's ghost begins leaving clues and sending warnings. Jaffe provides every character introduced a motive for killing Liza and many a reason to wish Aurora a similar fate. Ghost Flower has much to recommend it. The mysterious protagonist is a strong, intelligent personality the reader will quickly find engaging. Additional characters, while a bit stock, are also well drawn and sufficiently distinct—which is important because there are so many of them. Jaffe is a fine wordsmith who can string together sentences just as artfully as paragraphs and chapters. A braver editor might have whittled Jaffe's twists and character lists and recognized a few implausible forensic details to strengthen the story. It is more mystery than ghost story, so intrigue lovers weary of the trend toward the supernatural should not dismiss this title. It is a fun and satisfying mystery for intelligent readers. Reviewer: Lauri J. Vaughan
Children's Literature - Veronica Bartles
When siblings Bain and Bridgette ask Eve to impersonate their long-lost cousin, Aurora, who looks just like her, for a share of the money Aurora is set to inherit, she readily accepts. Eve easily slips into Aurora's life and is welcomed back by family and friends, but when the ghost of Liza, Aurora's dead best friend, starts haunting her, Eve must work to unravel the mystery before the killer comes after her as well. The mystery is fairly predictable and cliche, but Eve is such a likeable character that it does not really matter. This is a fun summer read for someone who wants a bit of suspense, a great, not-too-grisly ghost story, and a murder mystery that does not require much mental effort to analyze the clues. Jaffe perfectly captures the teen voice and offers twists and surprises often enough to keep the story from feeling stale. Fans of Mary Downing Hahn, Sara Shepard or Ally Carter are certain to enjoy this book. Reviewer: Veronica Bartles
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up—After they see Eve Brightman working in a Starbucks in Tucson, AZ, cunning siblings Bain and Bridgette Silverton are sure that she can impersonate their missing cousin Aurora until Aurora's wealthy grandmother dies and leaves her a fortune. As a foster child, Eve has trouble remembering her past, unless you count troubled dreams and sad memories. Why wouldn't she pretend to be beautiful, wealthy Aurora for a share of the inheritance? However, Eve finds out the hard way that easy money is never that easy. The family is suspicious of Aurora's miraculous reappearance, she is a person of interest in the mysterious suicide of her friend Liza, and her presence has enraged an unknown entity. Eve is unsure who or what is after her; she is haunted day and night by the living and the dead. Aurora's unfeeling family, her so-called friends, and even Liza's ghost all seem to want to help her, yet they also appear to be conspiring against her. The more Eve uncovers about Aurora's life and Liza's death, the more troubled and frantic she becomes. Jaffe's suspense-filled, thrilling paranormal mystery has fully developed characters and a well-thought-out, twisting plot. Readers will be kept guessing how it all ends, and, despite its substantial page count, the novel is suspenseful enough to be devoured in one sitting.—Cindy Wall, Southington Library & Museum, CT
Kirkus Reviews
In a tense mystery, a former foster kid calling herself Eve Brightman enters a dangerous scheme to impersonate a missing heiress. In the coffee shop where Eve works, an expensively dressed brother and sister approach her with a proposition: Eve, a "dead ringer" for their cousin Aurora Silverton, will pass herself off as Aurora to collect a multimillion dollar inheritance, of which Eve will receive a share. Without asking too many questions about Aurora's disappearance three years prior, Eve agrees to the scheme. After a month of rigorous coaching, the false Aurora arrives at the luxe but cold Silverton home. Tension builds rapidly and effectively from all sides as unanswered questions pile up: Will the Silvertons believe that Eve is Aurora? What are Bain and Bridgette, the siblings who engineered this scheme, hiding from Eve? Was the death of Aurora's best friend Liza truly a suicide? Who--or what--is behind the mysterious door-rattlings and phone calls that make Eve wonder if Liza's ghost is haunting her? Eve's determination to solve the mystery of Liza's death propels the plot forward, and ambitious readers can piece together theories of their own from clues that are revealed at just the right pace. A twist near the end dissolves some of the tension prematurely, but much of the suspense remains until the final moment. A compellingly sinister page-turner. (Suspense. 14 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101561683
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
04/12/2012
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
368
File size:
598 KB
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Michele Jaffe (www.michelejaffe.com) is the author of Rosebush, Bad Kitty, Kitty Kitty, and a number of adult thrillers. She has always dreamed of becoming either an FBI special agent or a glamorous showgirl. She lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ghost Flower 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
eheinlen More than 1 year ago
I just didn't like it. I couldn't get into it and didn't enjoy it at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IT STARTED LIKE AN FAIRY TALE Eve is a runaway with a shadowy past. Bain an Bridgette aproach her at the Starbucks were she works an the outskirts of Tuscon. The brother and sister anr beuatiful, sophisticated, and rich- rich beyond anything Eve can imagine. But they also seem like there're used to getting what they want. And right now they want her. Eve looks exactly like their cousin, Aurora, whi disappeared three years ago on the night her best friend Liza died. The plan? Stage Aurora's dramtic return, fool the family, get the money she's due to inherit, and split t all. BUT IT BECOMES A GHOST STORY Eve slips easily into the role of Aurora, until Liza's ghost appears, claiming there's more to thestory of her death then everyone thinks. Is she looking out for Eve or dose she have a nightmarish agenda of her own? As Eve works to unravel the mystery of what happened to the two best friends, the past continues to haunt her. She has a feeling that what she finds ll shed light on her own murky roots. That is , if she lives long enough to find out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On buying this book soon because it sounds amazing
secretpoet More than 1 year ago
Its a cliff habger book pulls you in and keeps you reading. I love the surpriseing twist that you wouldnt expect. Ir lts a wibderfyl read