Girl Genius Omnibus Volume One: Agatha Awakens

Overview

Girl Genius, the multiple Hugo Award–winning steampunk webcomic by Phil and Kaja Foglio, now collected in hardcover!

 

The Industrial Revolution has become all-out war! Mad Scientists, gifted with the Spark of genius, unleash insane inventions on an unprepared Europe. For centuries, the Heterodyne family of inventors kept the peace, but the last Heterodyne disappeared twenty years ago, leaving their ally Baron Klaus Wulfenbach to maintain order with his fleet of ...

See more details below
Hardcover (First Edition)
$22.97
BN.com price
(Save 34%)$34.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (17) from $16.00   
  • New (11) from $19.71   
  • Used (6) from $16.00   
Girl Genius Omnibus Volume One: Agatha Awakens

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$16.99
BN.com price

Overview

Girl Genius, the multiple Hugo Award–winning steampunk webcomic by Phil and Kaja Foglio, now collected in hardcover!

 

The Industrial Revolution has become all-out war! Mad Scientists, gifted with the Spark of genius, unleash insane inventions on an unprepared Europe. For centuries, the Heterodyne family of inventors kept the peace, but the last Heterodyne disappeared twenty years ago, leaving their ally Baron Klaus Wulfenbach to maintain order with his fleet of airships and army of unstoppable, if not very bright, Jaeger Monsters.

 

At Transylvania Polygnostic University, Agatha Clay dreams of being a scientist herself, but her trouble concentrating dooms her to be a lowly minion at best. When her locket, a family heirloom, is stolen, Agatha shows signs of having the Spark in a spectacular, destructive fashion and captures the attention of the Baron—and the Baron’s handsome young son, Gilgamesh.

 

Swept up to the Baron's Airship City, Agatha finds herself in the midst of the greatest minds of her generation, as well as palace intrigue, dashing heroes, and an imperial cat. Agatha may be the most brilliant mind of her generation and the key to control of the continent, but first, she just has to survive.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Winner of the 2009 and 2010 Hugo Awards for Best Graphic Story

 

"A sly and witty graphic novel."

—School Library Journal, Best Adult Books for High School Students 2003

 

"If Jules Verne has written comics, he wouldn't have written Girl Genius. He would have been jealous of it, though."

Comics Buyer's Guide

 

"The Foglios appear to have been liberated by the [webcomics] format—and that sense of buoyant imagination and unbridled fun runs through every page."

The Onion A.V. Club

 

"A manic, hilarious, adventure-filled gem of a comic. The series is made of win and I have only one regret: that I didn't know about it sooner. Do yourself a favor and go read it, NOW."

The Book Smugglers

 

"Girl Genius is unique. Buy it."

Comics Buyer's Guide

 

"Bursting at the seam with creativity, humor, and outright weirdness . . . an infectious and incredibly fun read."

—Sarah Kuhn, IGN

 

"Girl Genius is brilliant. It really is. It's fun and funky and unlike almost anything else, and it's Phil and Kaja Foglio doing what they do best."

—Eric Burns, Websnark.com

 

"It's appealingly drawn and cleverly written and cheerfully pulpy in all the right ways."

—Shaenon Garrity, The Webcomics Examiner

 

"Professionally executed artwork and a spanking story that makes it a timeless work of literature."

Shiny Shiny: a Girl's Guide to Gadgets

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780765331328
  • Publisher: Doherty, Tom Associates, LLC
  • Publication date: 2/28/2012
  • Edition description: First Edition
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 320
  • Sales rank: 447,429
  • Product dimensions: 6.92 (w) x 10.46 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author

PHIL and KAJA FOGLIO are the co-creators of the Hugo Award–winning and Eagle and Eisner Award–nominated webcomic Girl Genius. Phil Foglio illustrated Robert Asprin's MythAdventures series, and Kaja Foglio contributed art for Magic: the Gathering. Kaja and Phil were married in 1993. They have a son and a daughter, and live in Seattle.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Good: This is simply a great book. It captures the whimsy a

    The Good: This is simply a great book. It captures the whimsy and intricacy of steampunk high adventure. Girl Genius is at it's heart and adventure story, with elements of romance, danger, intrigue, and mystery. This collection of the Girl Genius books is very welcome, in a long lasting format (the paperback editions are cheap, but not very durable for repeated readings). Team Foglio's artwork is just as good in the beginning as it is now. Fans of Girl Genius or Phil and Kaja would do well to pick up this book.

    The Bad: There are minor issues with the art that are easy to overlook. Some of the early backgrounds were sparse and gradiant-filled and some of the line quality didn't have much variety, but even in the first few chapters things improve. Also, since this is already an 11 book series, look elsewhere for quick or easy answers to some of the mysteries introduced in this book. While the answers may ultimately be gratifying, it is the ride that you should enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review by Jessica for Book Sake The sound of this book is f

    Book Review by Jessica for Book Sake
    The sound of this book is fantastic: Mad scientists, genius, sci-fi, steampunk, but the problems with it outweigh what pulls through. The Jagermonsters, soldiers of some type of non-human form, talk with strong German accents…and it’s written that way. Thus a sentence that should take 2 seconds to read has to be sounded out letter by letter to figure out what they are trying to say. And this is over and over again throughout the entire book. Unfortunately the Jagermonsters aren’t the only ones with this accent and there is another character (or two) that speak like this as well. It’s so annoying that towards the end I found myself skipping their speech bubbles just to get on with things. Another issue is the setup of the panels and the flow of them. Often I was unable to follow the order of the panels as it wasn’t leading my eye from panel to panel, text to text.

    The idea for the story was cool and I liked the basic storyline, but it was so drawn out it was strange. This graphic novel covers 319 pages and barely anything consequential happens. Often times I pointed out the weird sausage link body parts of the main character, Agatha. And usually there are some attractively drawn characters within a graphic novel – but these characters all look odd and as if a different artist drew them from panel to panel. Just because you give a girl big breasts and show her wearing only her underwear doesn’t make the drawing appealing.

    Book Rating: 2/5
    Book Received From: Tor for Review

    Book Review by Chris for Book Sake
    This book had too many execution issues for me to get fully invested into the story. The lettering is often confusing, the character expressions don’t quite jive, and some jokes fall flat. The art at times is unappealing, the colors are a sickly vibrant.

    It’s not all negative though. The story has potential and you can tell there is a lot of love in it. Another thing to note is that this book started as a webcomic around 8 years ago. The pages in this collection came out in 2004. I viewed the newer pages and they look much better. The characters seem slightly more controlled and the colors are night and day.

    Book Rating: 2/5
    Book Received From: Tor for Review

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)