×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Girl out of Water
     

Girl out of Water

by Laura Silverman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her

Overview

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Debut novelist Silverman realistically captures Anise's love for her surfing life and the terrible sacrifice she makes when leaving it behind for a whole summer, and her relationships with her family are bittersweet and loving, giving her depth of character. Meanwhile, Lincoln is a charmer, and thanks for Silverman's excellent portrayal of a boy who is not defined by his disability, like Anise, reader will easily forget that he is missing an arm. Hand to fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han" - Booklist

"Anise's reluctance to leave, rooted in worries of forgetting home and being forgotten, will resonate with readers who've ever been homesick...A quick summer read to reassure teens who worry about college or blooming where they're planted." - Kirkus

"Silverman's debut is an entertaining and well-done coming-of-age story featuring a likable protagonist who learns that home is less about place and more about being surrounded by loved ones and friends. Silverman does a commendable job showcasing a diverse cast of characters, and the interracial romance is sweet and clean. The situations feel genuine and realistic...Those who enjoy Huntley Fitzpatrick and Jenny Han should give this one a try. There's lots to like here, and Silverman proves she is a rising author to watch out for.
" - RT Book Reviews

School Library Journal
03/01/2017
Gr 9 Up—Anise was born and raised on the ocean in Santa Cruz, CA. A talented surfer who lives steps away from the water, she is beyond ready for the last summer with her friends before their senior year of high school. Plans quickly change when her aunt, a widow with three children, gets into a serious car accident. Anise and her father have to fly to Nebraska to take care of the house and children. This is not the perfect summer Anise imagined. As she acclimates to life away from water, Anise can't help but feel haunted by the ghost of her runaway mother as she spends time in the house where her mother was raised. As her friends' texts grow fewer and farther between, Anise meets Lincoln. He is a confident skateboarder who has only one arm, and he shows Anise that there is more to life than surf and sand. Anise starts as a seemingly shallow person; being away from her friends forces her to step outside her comfort zone and examine parts of herself and her family that she did not know existed. Though she thinks about her friends in California all the time, they are not nearly as well-developed as her cousins and companions in Nebraska. Readers will empathize with Anise as she explores this different side of her life. The book features a cast of diverse characters and a fresh take on sports (surfing and skateboarding). While the ending is a bit rushed and will leave readers searching for answers about Anise's and Lincoln's futures, this title is ultimately worthy of a spot in any teen's beach bag. VERDICT Purchase for YA and high school collections where summer romance is in demand.—Carli Sauer, Carmel Middle School, IN
Kirkus Reviews
2017-02-20
Silverman's debut offers several takes on a good question: "Why do so many people equate growing up with leaving?" Unlike her mother, who enters and exits her life at whim, white, 17-year-old Anise has lived—and surfed—in Santa Cruz her whole life. Her easygoing father and a diverse group of friends provide stability—especially Eric, her white best friend, who's turning into something more. As the friends plan their last summer together before college, Anise's plans are shattered. Her aunt has been in a car accident, and Anise and her dad will be spending the summer in Nebraska caring for her aunt and high-spirited cousins. Anise's reluctance to leave, rooted in worries of forgetting home and being forgotten, will resonate with readers who've ever been homesick. While babysitting her cousins, she meets Lincoln, a black, smart, handsome, witty one-armed skateboarder whose personality quirks are rattled off in lists rather than revealed through interactions. As Anise trades surfing for skating, she gradually matures, feeling a responsibility to her cousins and sympathy for her aunt and father. Nomadic, nature-obsessed Lincoln, whose only flaws seem to be a messy glove compartment and an inability to sing, is an ever patient teacher, showing Anise how to adapt to new places and call them home. A quick summer read to reassure teens who worry about college or blooming where they're planted. (Romance. 14-18)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781492646860
Publisher:
Sourcebooks
Publication date:
05/02/2017
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
115,714
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years