Goblins

( 2 )

Overview


From the renowned author of Here Lies Arthur and No Such Thing As Dragons, the adventures of a goblin outcast who must save his world from the rise of a dangerous dark magic...

Welcome to a wild world of magical creatures and heroic adventure!

The squabbling goblins that live in the great towers of Clovenstone spend their time fighting and looting. Only clever young Skarper (who happens to be in exile) understands that dark magic created by a ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$13.49
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$17.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (15) from $5.28   
  • New (11) from $9.93   
  • Used (4) from $5.28   
Goblins

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.61
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview


From the renowned author of Here Lies Arthur and No Such Thing As Dragons, the adventures of a goblin outcast who must save his world from the rise of a dangerous dark magic...

Welcome to a wild world of magical creatures and heroic adventure!

The squabbling goblins that live in the great towers of Clovenstone spend their time fighting and looting. Only clever young Skarper (who happens to be in exile) understands that dark magic created by a vanquished sorcerer is rising again. With the help of a wannabe-hero, a middle-aged princess, and a few bumbling wizards, Skarper must fight to save their world.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
09/30/2013
In a fast-moving and genuinely funny fantasy, Carnegie Medalist Reeve (Here Lies Arthur) introduces Skarper, a practical sort of goblin who has alienated the less sophisticated members of his tribe by being both intelligent and given to talking back. After being fired off in a "bratapult" by his foes and surviving his fall—he lands rather improbably on a very dense cloud—Skarper meets Henwyn, a foolish 15-year-old apprentice cheesewright who has delusions of becoming a hero ("he'd always felt that he was meant for something more than dairy produce"). After stumbling into several quixotic adventures, the duo teams up with peaceful giant Fraddon, middle-aged princess Eluned (Ned for short), and a gaggle of incompetent sorcerers to defeat the goblins and avert the return to power of the evil Lych Lord. Filled with cheeky surprises, absurd circumstances delivered in a deadpan manner, and magnetic picaresque-style storytelling, this middle-grade novel should readily appeal to fans of The Hobbit, Lloyd Alexander's Prydain series, and Monty Python. Ages 8–12. Agent: Philippa Milnes-Smith, LAW, Ltd. (Sept.)
From the Publisher

Praise for Goblins:

Shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2012
“You know you are in the hands of a master storyteller when a dangerous yet frivolous fantasy world is brought to life with such imagination that it not only entertains and amuses -- it actually seems real and makes its own curious sense... Goblins is an utterly charming delight and children will love it.”
Telegraph

Praise for Philip Reeve

"Reeve is not just an excellent writer, but a creator with a wildly imaginative mind."
--School Library Journal

School Library Journal
12/01/2013
Gr 4–7—A great romp through fantasy and fable, Goblins delivers a highly descriptive and suspenseful tale that, in the end, proves the power of friendship. The story chronicles the adventures of a too-clever-for-his-own-good goblin and a handsome but hapless hero-wannabe human as they join forces to fight a troll, rescue a princess who doesn't want to be rescued, and thwart the efforts of three inept sorcerers intent on restoring the powers of the evil Lych Lord. At times funny, at times dark, and with just enough gore to keep it interesting, Goblins is a great read.—Kathy Kirchoefer, Henderson County Public Library, NC
Kirkus Reviews
Sundry creatures and an affable aspiring hero stumble and bumble around a magically infused landscape. Skarper the goblin lives in one of seven ruined towers surrounding an ancient, sealed-up Keep. Goblin gangs (including Skarper's) have overrun the towers, fighting each other and scrambling for treasures. As Skarper has learned to read the lettuce (letters) that make up worms (words) and form burks (books)--other goblins use burks as "bumwipe"--he's declared "too clever by half" and launched sky-high from a "bratapult." He survives and meets Henwyn, a rather dimwitted human boy who'd rather be a hero than a cheesewright and seeks "evils to fight: proper ones, not made of cheese." Skarper, Henwyn and others--including a giant, three "self-styled sorcerers" and a gray-haired princess in her 40s who nonetheless needs rescuing (some things never change)--blunder around, fighting baddies while at odds with one another's goals. Some workings go unexplained (how does a one-legged goblin move around? How do characters reach a ship atop a tower?). In a device that doesn't always work, playful humor (Henwyn is "stout of heart and damp of socks") contrasts with the formal epic-fantasy voice Reeve uses for background ("the lands of the west, where men are few and some of the old magic lingers"). That exposition feels far distant, yet it's key to the climax, which features the Keep imploding like Tolkien's Barad-dûr. A bit overlong and slapdash-feeling, but amiable. (Fantasy. 8-11)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780545222204
  • Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
  • Publication date: 8/27/2013
  • Pages: 352
  • Sales rank: 540,836
  • Age range: 8 - 12 Years
  • Lexile: 1020L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.20 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 1.40 (d)

Meet the Author


Philip Reeve is the bestselling author of the Predator Cities quartet and the award-winning Fever Crumb series. His other books include the highly acclaimed HERE LIES ARTHUR and NO SUCH THING AS DRAGONS. He lives in Dartmoor, England with his wife and son. Visit him online at philip-reeve.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    Both my son and daughter loved this story--as did I. My son snic

    Both my son and daughter loved this story--as did I. My son snickered and laughed all the way through it, which is not surprising since Reeve is a master of boy humor. The world building, character development, and myriad of unexpected touches (like a middle-aged princess who doesn't actually want to be rescued) make this a delightfully fun read. My kids and I are really hoping for a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Even though this webpage, has no cover, you will receive a good

    Even though this webpage, has no cover, you will receive a good copy of Goblins. I'm only about 1/3 into it, but it does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)