Gods of the Morning

Gods of the Morning

by John Lister-Kaye
Gods of the Morning

Gods of the Morning

by John Lister-Kaye



Available on Compatible NOOK devices, the free NOOK App and in My Digital Library.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers


Gods of the Morning follows the year through the turning of the seasons at Aigas, the Highlands estate John Lister-Kaye has transformed into a world-renowned wildlife center. John's affection, wisdom and lyricism sings off every page, bringing the natural world around him to life: from the rookery filled with twenty-nine nests and distinct bird calls to descriptions of the winter morning light, from the wood mice and the squirrels preparing for winter to tracking a fox's path through the snow. In particular it brings John's lifelong love of birds—his gods of the morning—to the fore.In the Highland glens, bird numbers plummet as their food supplies —natural fruits and every kind of creeping, crawling, slithering or flying bug—begin to disappear. By the first frosts the hills will have emptied down to a few hardy stalwarts such as the golden eagles, the raven and the irrepressible hooded crows. Silence settles across the land. The few species that are left frequent a changed world. Soon only the buzzards and wood pigeons will hang on in the woods and the coniferous forests will be host to flocks of chaffinches, tits, siskins, and crossbills passing through.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781605987972
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 08/15/2015
Format: eBook
Pages: 336
File size: 585 KB

About the Author

John Lister-Kaye is one of Britain's foremost naturalists and conservationists. He is the author of eight books on wildlife and the environment and has lectured on three continents. His last book At the Water's Edge was published by Canongate in 2010 to excellent reviews. He has served prominently in the RSPB, the Nature Conservancy Council, Scottish Natural Heritage and the Scottish Wildlife Trust. In 2003 he was awarded an OBE for services to nature conservation. He lives with his wife and family among the mountains of the Scottish Highlands, where he runs the world-famous Aigas Field Centre.

Table of Contents

Preface 1

1 Blackcap 5

2 That Time of Year 11

3 So Great a Cloud of Witnesses 31

4 And Then There Were Rooks 43

5 Prints in the Snow 61

6 A Swan for Christmas 77

7 The Day the Sun Stands Still 87

8 The Gods of High Places IOI

9 A Dog's Life 115

10 The Memory of Owls 135

11 The Long Wait 159

12 The Suns Rough Kiss 173

13 Buzzard 189

14 Comings and Goings 203

15 Nesting 215

16 Summer Night 235

17 A Day of Spiders 249

18 Gods of the Morning 261

19 Arthur and the Treecreeper 279

Acknowledgements 293

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews