Going to War in the 19th Century

Going to War in the 19th Century

by Craig Dodd, Mark Bergin
     
 

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal - School Library Journal
Gr 4-7-These informative British imports have a good balance of well-written text and clear, colorful detailed drawings. The 18th Century covers the armies and navies of the American Revolution and major European wars. The 19th Century presents the fighting forces of the Crimean War, the U.S. Civil War, and the Indian Mutiny. The authors' balanced accounts point out the tedium and difficulty as well as the excitement of military life. Topics include recruiting, infantry, uniforms, artillery, cavalry, tactics, camp life, and medicine. These books will appeal to fans of Michelle Byam's Arms and Armor (DK, 2000), Richard Holmes's Battle (2000, both DK), and Andrew Robertshaw's A Soldier's Life (Lodestar, 1997).-Eunice Weech, M. L. King Elementary School, Urbana, IL Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780531145944
Publisher:
Scholastic Library Publishing
Publication date:
09/28/2001
Series:
Armies of the past Series
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
8.44(w) x 10.68(h) x 0.39(d)
Lexile:
IG990L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 11 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >