Golden State

Golden State

3.0 1
by Michelle Richmond
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.

Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though

…  See more details below

Overview


Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, mesmerizing new novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.

Doctor Julie Walker has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, Julie sets out for the hospital to be at her sister's side--no easy task, as the streets of San Francisco have erupted into chaos. Today is the day that Californians vote on whether or not to secede from the United States. Today is also the day that Julie will find herself at the epicenter of a violent standoff in which she is forced to examine both the promising and painful parts of her past--her Southern childhood; her romance with her husband, Tom; her estrangement from Heather; and the shattering incident that led to her greatest heartbreak.

Infused with emotional depth and poignancy, Golden State takes readers on a journey over the course of a single, unforgettable day--through an extraordinary landscape of love, loss, and hope.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Nearly every feature of this mesmerizing novel is provocative, as Richmond explores the fragmented, hopeful lives of complex characters...Gripping, multilayered, must-read fiction." Andrea Tarr for Library Journal, starred review

"Mesmerizing and intricate, Richmond's dissection of a California on the violent brink of secession from the nation provides the backdrop to her deeper inspection of the uneasy, fragile relationship between siblings...[a] riveting read." Booklist (starred review)

"An exciting premise . . . skillfully written . . . Julie's past and her relationship with the other characters are scrutinized as the clock ticks. It's an interesting and sometimes-disturbing study."--Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781410469113
Publisher:
Gale Group
Publication date:
07/09/2014
Edition description:
Large Print
Pages:
501
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)

Meet the Author


Michelle Richmond is the author of the forthcoming novel GOLDEN STATE (February 4, 2014), the New York Times bestseller THE YEAR OF FOG, the novels NO ONE YOU KNOW and DREAM OF THE BLUE ROOM, and the award-winning story collection The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress. Her new story collection, HUM, will also be published in 2014.

Michelle has received the Catherine Doctorow Innovative Fiction Prize (2012), the Hillsdale Award for Fiction from the Fellowship of Southern Writers (2009), the Associated Writing Programs Award, and the Mississippi Review Fiction Prize.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >