Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey!

Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey!

5.0 1
by Mary Amato, Ward Jenkins
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture. 

When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal

Overview

A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and returns to the age category of her popular Riot Brothers chapter book series with this new venture. 

When their parents steal a monkey from the zoo to help them pick pockets, our heroes rush into action and return the wily animal using disguises, inventions, and old-fashioned shoe leather. They also learn what a monkey can do in 11 minutes: 1) Stick his fingers in your right nostril. 2) Lick your eyebrows, pick his teeth, and then wipe his finger on your shirt. 

Giggles and guffaws will be the result of anyone reading Book One of Good Crooks.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
03/01/2014
Gr 2–4—Billy and Jillian Crook want to be good Crooks instead of following in their dishonest parents' footsteps. They are being trained in the family business, so the twins must do their good deeds in secret. In the first book, their parents steal a monkey to train to pick pockets, much to the siblings' disapproval. In Dog Gone!, Billy and Jillian raise money for a dog shelter. However, their attempt to do something worthy goes wrong when their mom and dad plot to steal the TV star Poochie Smoochie. Using disguises, Jillian's problem-solving skills, and Billy's humor, the kids work together to return the stolen animals. Bizarre and comedic circumstances keep readers wondering what will happen next, and frequent black-and-white art adds to the fun. This humorous series will be a hit with early-chapter-book readers.—Sarah Polace, Cuyahoga Public Library System, OH
Publishers Weekly
11/11/2013
Billy’s parents live up to their last name of Crook, and Billy and his twin sister, Jillian, are expected to follow in their footsteps. The problem is that both kids feel drawn to doing good deeds. “Should I stop my greedy crook ways and become a good person like this old grandma standing next to me?” Billy wonders. In this first book in the Good Crooks series from Amato (Guitar Notes), the twins try to help out at the local zoo, only to have their parents steal a monkey to train as a thief. Jillian’s genius for problem-solving and gadget-making and Billy’s more slapdash tendencies combine with comical results. With his jokes, burping skills, and endless craving for bacon, Billy is an entertaining narrator, and the book’s many gags and sweetly absurd resolutions to the outlandish problems that arise will have beginning readers eager for more chaotic misadventures from these well-meaning Crooks. Dog Gone! is available simultaneously. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 7–9. Author’s agent: Nancy Gallt Literary Agency. Illustrator’s agent: Jennifer Laughran, Andrea Brown Literary Agency. (Feb)
Kirkus Reviews
2013-12-18
A new chapter-book series about do-gooder thieves kicks off with a monkeynapping. While most parents want their children to be law-abiding citizens, bacon-loving Billy Crook and his inventor twin sister, Jillian, are home-schooled by their professional thief parents to keep their covers safe and practice the skills of the "trade." Billy's easygoing, quick-paced narration describes the blunders he and Jillian face when they decide to secretly do good deeds. In their first "caper," the twins go in disguise to a clean-up day at the zoo. When their parents follow them and steal a monkey in the process, Billy and Jillian attempt a series of unsuccessful yet humorous schemes to return the monkey without their parents' knowledge. In the second, simultaneously publishing story, Dog Gone! (978-1-60684-397-0; 978-1-60684-510-3 paper), the pair faces a similar scenario when they decide to raise money for an animal shelter by earning the money through a bake sale. Once again, their parents steal an animal, this time Poochie Smoochie, the poodle star of a popular TV show. A concluding twist in the twins' true identities saves the second volume from being just a rehash of the first and sets the scene for more titles. Scrappy song lyrics, energetic illustrations and plenty of potty humor keep the hilarity high for reluctant readers. (Fiction. 7-9)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781606844038
Publisher:
Lerner Publishing Group
Publication date:
02/01/2014
Series:
Good Crooks
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
128
Sales rank:
653,594
Lexile:
510L (what's this?)
File size:
6 MB
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Meet the Author

Mary Amato has written many acclaimed books for children including Invisible Lines, which was nominated for the California Young Readers Medal and the Missouri Truman Readers Award, and her first book for young adults, Guitar Notes, which is on the KY Bluegrass Master List. Amato's debut novel, The Word Eater, appeared on many state lists, and The Naked Mole-Rat Letters followed suit, gathering even more fans. She is also the author of a chapter book series starring the Riot Brothers, which began with Snarf AttackUnderfoodle, and The Secret of Life: The Riot Brothers Tell All. She lives is Silver Spring, MD. You may visit her online at www.maryamato.com. 

Ward Jenkins is an animator and an illustrator. His first picture book was How to Train with a T. Rex and Win 8 Gold Medals by Michael Phelps and his second wasChicks Run Wild by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallan. He cannot outswim Michael Phelps--yet! He lives in Portland, OR.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey! 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My tutor says it's a great book, so let us take advantige of that because tutors are suppose to hp us. :)