Good News from Africa: Portrait

Good News from Africa: Portrait

by Abdullah Ibrahim

Product Details

Release Date:
Network Germany


Disc 1

  1. Namhanje
  2. Zikr
  3. Tsakve
  4. The Perfumed Forest Wet With Rain
  5. Liberation Dance (When Tarzan Met the African Freedom Fighter)
  6. Ntsikana's Bell
  7. Adhan and Allah-O-Akbar
  8. Banyana the Children of Africa
  9. Ishmael

Disc 2

  1. Thaba Bosigo (Mountain of the Night)
  2. Siya Hamba Namhlanje (We Are Leaving Today)
  3. Iza Ne Zembe Gawuale (Bring the Axe)
  4. Black and Brown Cherries
  5. Blues for a Hip King
  6. For Coltrane
  7. Joan-Capetown Flower
  8. The Wedding
  9. The Mountain of the Night
  10. Earth Bird
  11. African Market
  12. Serenity (The Daybreak Song)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Abdullah Ibrahim   Primary Artist,Flute,Piano,Soprano Saxophone,Vocals
Roy Brooks   Drums
Johnny Dyani   Bass,Vocals,Bells
Robin Eubanks   Trombone
Ricky Ford   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Billy Higgins   Drums,Guimbri
Cecil McBee   Bass
Carlos Ward   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Howard Johnson   Trumpet,Tuba,Baritone Saxophone
John Betsch   Drums
Craig Handy   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Don Mumford   Drums
Essiet Okon Ossiet   Bass
Benny Powell   Trombone
John Stubblefield   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Buster Williams   Bass
Horace Alexander Young   Piccolo,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
David Williams   Bass
Johnny Byani   Bass,Vocals,Bells
Brian Adams   Drums

Technical Credits

Abdullah Ibrahim   Composer
Kurt Rapp   Engineer
Horst Weber   Producer
Martin Wieland   Engineer
Phoebe Ferguson   Cover Photo
Lisa Schubert   Cover Design

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >