by Emily K. Green

View All Available Formats & Editions

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Veronica Bartles
Part of the series, "The New Food Guide Pyramid," this book explores the grain food group in a way that beginning readers can understand and relate to. Using simple text and bright, colorful photographs and illustrations, Green explains the grains group to young readers. What are grains? Why do we need to eat them? How do whole grains help our bodies grow? How much whole grain should a child eat each day? Green answers all these questions in a fun, eye-catching book. Complete with a glossary and a list of additional resources for further study, this book would make a wonderful addition to any kindergarten through second grade class library for use during the nutrition units of study. In addition to the detailed focus on the specific grains food group, this book includes an overview of the food guide pyramid. It flows well with other books in the series, but it works as a stand-alone book, too. Part of the "Blast Off Readers" series. Reviewer: Veronica Bartles

Product Details

Scholastic Library Publishing
Publication date:
Blastoff! Readers Level 2 Series
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.10(d)
Age Range:
5 - 8 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >