Granados: Danzas españolas

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (8) from $4.11   
  • New (8) from $4.11   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 5/25/2010
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313231379
  • Catalog Number: 8572313
  • Sales rank: 291,424


Disc 1
  1. 1 Improvisation on themes of Valenciana Jota, for piano (transcription of a recording by Granados) - Enriqué Granados & Douglas Riva (5:03)
  2. 2 Spanish Dances (12), in 4 volumes for piano, Op. 37, H. 142, DLR 1:2 - Enriqué Granados & Douglas Riva (58:50)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Douglas Riva Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The first piano masterworks of Granados

    This CD is part of the 10-disc Naxos series of the complete piano music of Enrique Granados, with the American pianist Douglas Riva. It's odd, though, to see this March 2009 recording billed as volume one in the series, even though most of the other discs were recorded and released much earlier in the 2000s. Riva is obviously at home in the piano music of the Spanish master, and he makes a strong showing, if not the strongest, in the Spanish Dances. These were Granados's first masterpieces, and they contain some of the his most appealing piano music.

    This music is extraordinarily well served on CD. Martin Jones on Nimbus is outstanding, and I also really enjoyed Angela Hewitt on CBC Records. You can even hear the composer play four of the Dances, on a Nimbus disc called The Composer Plays. But the gold standard in this music, is, of course, Alicia de Larrocha, available in various CD incarnations on RCA.

    I quite like Riva's approach to this music. His version of the famous Andaluza (#5) is impressive, and I also liked what he did with the final two pieces Arabesca (#11) and Bolero (#12). But like many others in the lovely Orientale (#2) Riva pushes forward the full beauty right away, while the composer holds something back at first and lets it unfold later in the piece. Meanwhile, de Larrocha somehow has it both ways, and it's perfectly poetic from beginning to end.

    Riva has an advantage over some of his rivals in his sound. His producer and engineer John Taylor has provided him the most natural, open sound, which suits both the open-air music and Riva's way of playing. This is must-hear music, and a fine disc to include in your collection, though everyone must have de Larrocha!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews