A Grand Strategy for America / Edition 1

Paperback (Print)
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $2.41
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 89%)
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (5) from $2.41   
  • New (1) from $17.71   
  • Used (4) from $2.41   

Overview

The United States today is the most powerful nation in the world, perhaps even stronger than Rome was during its heyday. It is likely to remain the world's preeminent power for at least several decades to come. What behavior is appropriate for such a powerful state? To answer this question, Robert J. Art concentrates on "grand strategy"—the deployment of military power in both peace and war to support foreign policy goals.

He first defines America's contemporary national interests and the specific threats they face, then identifies seven grand strategies that the United States might contemplate, examining each in relation to America's interests. The seven are:

• dominion—forcibly trying to remake the world in America's own image;

• global collective security—attempting to keep the peace everywhere;

• regional collective security—confining peacekeeping efforts to Europe;

• cooperative security—seeking to reduce the occurrence of war by limiting other states' offensive capabilities;

• isolationism—withdrawing from all military involvement beyond U.S. borders;

• containment—holding the line against aggressor states; and

• selective engagement—choosing to prevent or to become involved only in those conflicts that pose a threat to the country's long-term interests.

Art makes a strong case for selective engagement as the most desirable strategy for contemporary America. It is the one that seeks to forestall dangers, not simply react to them; that is politically viable, at home and abroad; and that protects all U.S. interests, both essential and desirable. Art concludes that "selective engagement is not a strategy for all times, but it is the best grand strategy for these times."

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"A brilliant distillation and synthesis of some of the best contemporary scholarship on American grand strategy, Art's new book offers a clear exposition of U.S. national interests and how to defend them."—Foreign Affairs

"Art, a senior and seasoned scholar, deploys his craft masterfully. In A Grand Strategy for America he presents a clearheaded, classical, national-interest analysis that starts with a ranking of America's basic interests. . . . Art then dissects eight grand strategies to promote American interests against these threats. . . . Art's analysis is a sober reminder to European and American multilateralists that the use of force remains essential for managing world peace beyond the Atlantic region."—Henry R. Nau, Perspectives on Politics

"For this American-led international system to continue to be effective, some version of Art's military strategy is an essential component. No clever political or economic scheme, for example, the 'democratic peace' or 'globalization', can compensate for it. Art has given us a first-rate and very useful book."—William E. Odom, Political Science Quarterly

"Art sees six major national interests for the US in the world: preventing an attack on the homeland, preventing major Eurasian arms races and wars, preserving access to foreign oil, preserving an open economic system, promoting democracy and human rights, and protecting the environment, with special attention to global warming. . . Art's preference for a grand strategy of selective engagement with the world is generally well argued. . . . Highly recommended. All levels."—Choice

"Art believes the U.S. should maintain its military deployments in Europe, East Asia, and the Persian Gulf, and wage war when vital or highly important interests are threatened (and occasionally to head off a Rwanda-style genocide), but deplores the unilateralismism and 'arrogance,' and feels the U.S. should pay attention to world opinion, help combat global warming, and eschew missile defense."—Publishers Weekly, 15 July 2003

"This is a truly excellent book, destined to become a classic in the genre. Political leaders would benefit greatly reading it. It should be essential reading for anyone interested in international relations and U.S. foreign policy."—Political Studies Review

"How should the United States use its preponderant power in the world? This book is a clear-eyed—and encouraging—answer from a hardheaded and sophisticated realist. Let us hope that our leaders read it!"—Joseph S. Nye, author of The Paradox of American Power and former Assistant Secretary of Defense

"This is an extraordinarily lucid exposition of the choices ahead for America as it charts its course in the complex, rapidly changing, and increasingly dangerous world of the twenty-first century. Robert J. Art sets out to describe the most prudent grand strategy to secure the nation's vital and important interests, and along the way carefully considers other plausible but ultimately less attractive alternatives. The process brings the reader through a constructive application of international relations theory, incisive historical analysis, and a wonderfully textured appreciation of the international setting in which we now find ourselves. One would not expect to add about such a book that it is 'a good read,' but it is. It is at once sophisticated and scholarly, advancing the debate in the academic literature about grand strategy, and at the same time, quite accessible to any citizen interested in our nation's future. A Grand Strategy for America is just what we need."—Robert L. Gallucci, Dean, Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University

"Robert Art writes about American grand strategy in the tradition of Walter Lippmann and George Kennan. In his important new book, Art makes a sophisticated and powerful case for using U.S. military might to dominate Europe, Northeast Asia, and the Persian Gulf, but not to seek global hegemony."—John J. Mearsheimer, R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor at the University of Chicago

"A thorough, forthright, and eminently readable examination of America's grand strategy: what it has been, what it may become, and what it should be."—Kenneth N. Waltz, Institute of War and Peace Studies, Columbia University

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780801489570
  • Publisher: Cornell University Press
  • Publication date: 11/28/2004
  • Series: A Century Foundation Book Series
  • Edition description: New Edition
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 344
  • Sales rank: 951,960
  • Product dimensions: 6.10 (w) x 9.20 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Meet the Author

Robert J. Art is Christian A. Herter Professor of International Relations at Brandeis University. He is the author of The TFX Decision: McNamara and the Military and coeditor of The United States and Coercive Diplomacy (with Patrick Cronin) and U.S. Foreign Policy: the Search for a New Role (with Seyom Brown).

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Foreword by Richard C. Leone, President of The Century Foundation

Introduction

1. The International Setting

2. America's National Interests

3. Dominion, Collective Security, and Containment

4. Selective Engagement

5. Isolationism and Offshore Balancing

6. Selective Engagement and the Free Hand Strategies

7. Implementing Selective Engagement

Appendix A. Civil Wars Active between 1991 and 2000
Appendix B. International Wars Active between 1991 and 2000

Notes
Index

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)