Grave Imports

Overview

Exotic mystery/adventure set in Asia.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (15) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $11.88   
  • Used (12) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

Exotic mystery/adventure set in Asia.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

Ray Sharp (The Living Room of the Dead) earns a living investigating Asian companies as possible investments for U.S. businesses. A routine probe into a Chinese art-supplies company has Ray following an antiquities smuggling ring from Hong Kong to mainland China to Cambodia. It is 1995, and art smuggling is a money maker for a Vietnamese ex-general, the Khmer Rouge, and every lowlife in Southeast Asia. What starts as a fast-paced thriller turns into a deeper social novel concerned with poverty, slavery, and the best and worst of the human condition. This will appeal to fans of John Burdett and Colin Cotterill, as well as patrons who enjoy exotic Asian settings and a mystery plot with some substance.


—Jo Ann Vicarel
Kirkus Reviews
The trade in illegal Cambodian antiquities is flourishing, though prospects for its fictionalization are more iffy. Hong Kong journalist Ray Sharp (The Living Room of the Dead, 2005, etc.) has left his editorial job for a more frankly investigative post with Due Diligence International. His latest assignment-check out Golden Truly Million Artists Mansion Guangdong Ltd. for a potential purchaser-is routine, and so is his discovery that Golden Truly isn't the cleanest operation. In the course of his inquiries, though, Ray runs up against not only a record number of lovelies who throw themselves at him to no avail ("What is it with me and women lately?" he wonders after sturdily rebuffing the latest of them), but Vietnamese-born General Tran, a naturalized Thai whose leading interests are sensualism and smuggling. When eagle-eyed Ray sees a brace of Khmer Rouge soldiers visiting the Sunthorns, a family of artisans with close ties to the General, his smiling host abruptly turns against him and Thanee, the retainer/courtesan he's assigned to him, and Ray, doing his best John Wayne imitation, informs Tran that now it's personal: Even though he had nothing against the General, he's definitely going to ruin his operation, assuming of course that he survives long enough. A Saturday-matinee adventure serial updated with drugs, grime, mid-life disillusionment and constant, albeit unfulfilled, promises of sex.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781932557473
  • Publisher: Big Earth Publishing
  • Publication date: 9/28/2007
  • Series: Ray Sharp Novels Ser.
  • Pages: 328
  • Product dimensions: 8.28 (w) x 5.48 (h) x 0.96 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)