Great-Aunt Sophia's Lessons for Bombshells by Lisa Cach | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Great-Aunt Sophia's Lessons for Bombshells

Great-Aunt Sophia's Lessons for Bombshells

4.3 6
by Lisa Cach
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A Ph.D. in sex appeal ?

Grace Cavanaugh is hell-bent on proving her Women’s Studies dissertation thesis that beauty only leads to misery. And what better research subject than her great-aunt Sophia, a former B-movie star? Now eighty-five and facing surgery, Sophia has asked Grace for company. . . .

Grace imagines a helpless, lonely

Overview

A Ph.D. in sex appeal ?

Grace Cavanaugh is hell-bent on proving her Women’s Studies dissertation thesis that beauty only leads to misery. And what better research subject than her great-aunt Sophia, a former B-movie star? Now eighty-five and facing surgery, Sophia has asked Grace for company. . . .

Grace imagines a helpless, lonely old woman, forced to turn to a great-niece she barely knows. Instead she finds the aging diva holding court in a Pebble Beach mansion, oozing a bombshell-itude—arthritis and wrinkles be damned—that captivates every male in sight. To Grace’s dismay, her greataunt decides a perfect distraction would be transforming the frumpy feminist into a femme fatale who purrs for her suitors . . . or devours them. She ordains classes in everything from carb cutting to lingerie, culminating in a challenging final exam. The newly svelte Grace must test her wiles—on both devilishly handsome and morally corrupt Declan and sensitive but painfully awkward Dr. Andrew.

Newly unleashed desires—and the discovery of a closely held family secret— threaten the bookworm-turned-babe’s entire feminist upbringing. Her thesis gone sadly awry, Grace wonders if her great-aunt is right: Will trusting her heart lead her to find beauty in the most unexpected places?

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Grace Cavanaugh is a women's studies Ph.D. candidate struggling to make ends meet. She jumps at the chance to spend the summer assisting her elderly aunt since it will mean three months at a beach house with plenty of time to complete her dissertation. Sure, her Aunt Sophia, a retired B-movie star, drove her to tears when she was a child, but she figures she can take anything her aunt dishes out now. What Grace doesn't expect is that still-glamorous Sophia will push her into realizing her inner bombshell or that her newly discovered diva wiles will bring her to the attention of two very attractive men. VERDICT Two-time RITA Award finalist Cach (Dating Without Novacaine) has been steadily moving away from romance to chick lit. Her new novel falls squarely in the latter category. While she doesn't offer anything particularly new in the genre, readers who enjoy Sophie Kinsella or Jane Green will find plenty to enjoy in this charming entry.—Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781416553823
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Publication date:
06/19/2012
Sold by:
SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
329,511
File size:
3 MB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Lisa Cach is the national bestselling, award-winning author of more than twenty books, including Great-Aunt Sophia’s Lessons for Bombshells, available from Gallery Books. She has taught creative writing aboard the ship MV Explorer from the Amazon River, to Morocco, to St. Petersburg, Russia. When not sailing the high seas she can be found digging for clams in the sandy mud of the Puget Sound or dealing cruelly with weeds and snails in her garden. She’s a two-time finalist for the prestigious RITA Award from the Romance Writers of America, which doesn’t make it any easier to explain to her neighbors that she writes erotica. Visit her online at LisaCach.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >