The Great Brain Is Back (The Great Brain Series #8)

The Great Brain Is Back (The Great Brain Series #8)

5.0 3
by John D. Fitzgerald, Diane de Groat
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

This classic trickster is back again, and he's up to no good in his eighth and final book of the series. Great mix of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Tom D. Fitzgerald—better known as The Great Brain—has turned thirteen, and pretty Polly Reagan has put a spell on him. But

Overview

This classic trickster is back again, and he's up to no good in his eighth and final book of the series. Great mix of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Tom D. Fitzgerald—better known as The Great Brain—has turned thirteen, and pretty Polly Reagan has put a spell on him. But when it comes to swindling his younger brother J. D., and all the other kids in Adenville, Tom hasn't changed a bit. The Great Brain is back one more time, and he's at the top of his form with his money-making schemes and getting into big trouble. As always, life is more exciting when this brain's around!

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 4-8Fitzgerald wrote the first of his autobiographical yarns set in Mormon Utah in the 1890s in 1967. In 1975, what was thought to be the last of the series, The Great Brain Does It Again, was published. Readers of all ages will take delight in getting acquainted or reacquainted with these engaging characters in this eighth and last offering. Loose chapters found after the author's death have been nicely arranged by the editors into a novel in keeping with the style and tone of others in the series. In all this time, the narrator's older brother, Tom, has only reached the age of 13, and has fallen under the spell of pretty Polly Reagana situation that does not affect his great brain or his money-loving schemes and propensity to swindle his brothers and friends. From a slippery soap deal to outwitting a band of outlaws, Tom's antics are humorously told by J.D., whose view of his sibling is a wonderful mixture of admiration and exasperation. His narration provides an excellent example of the difficult-to-reach concept of voice in writing. A satisfying conclusion that's certain to be a hit with fans, as well as a great way to introduce a new generation of youngsters to an entertaining series.Connie Tyrrell Burns, Mahoney Middle School, South Portland, ME
Carolyn Phelan
Published from a manuscript found after Fitzgerald's death, the eighth book in the Great Brain series will not disappoint his many fans. The year is 1899, and J. D. narrates this episodic novel, which follows the format of the previous books. Once again, it is J. D. on the defense as he describes his big brother Tom's conniving ways from the first chapter, in which Tom sells J. D. a wagonload of soap, through the last, in which J. D. claims that Tom is finally outswindled--by his own mother. DeGroat's full-page pencil drawings, one per chapter, capture the era well and portray the characters sympathetically, but the book's gentle humor finds expression mainly through the writing. A satisfying addition to a series that continues to attract young readers.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803713468
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
03/28/1995
Series:
Great Brain Series , #8
Edition description:
1st ed
Pages:
128
Product dimensions:
5.78(w) x 8.55(h) x 0.62(d)
Lexile:
790L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

John D. Fitzgerald was born in Utah and lived there until he left at eighteen to begin a series of interesting careers ranging from jazz drummer to foreign correspondent. His stories of The Great Brain were based on his own childhood in Utah with a conniving older brother named Tom. These reminiscences led to eight memorable Great Brain books. John D. Fitzgerald also wrote several best-selling adult books, including Papa Married a Mormon. He died in Florida, his home of many years, at the age of eighty-one.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Great Brain Is Back (The Great Brain Series #8) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a thirty four year old mother of two children and I recently picked up the entire series of The Great Brain books for my soon to be seven year old son. I loved these books when I was growing up and now I have the books to pass on to my kids. Wonderful, creative, fun stories about a young boy who uses his high intelligence to trick children and adults alike to get what he wants. Brilliantly written and illustrated! Recommend this to anyone and everyone!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
John Fitzgerald's classic story about his older brother Tom is awsome series and will be a timeless calssic for generations to come!