Greatest Hits, Vol. 2

Greatest Hits, Vol. 2

4.2 7
by Gloria Estefan

View All Available Formats & Editions

This second installment of Estefan's Greatest Hits shows her at the peak of her Latin-pop crossover powers, culling all her biggest English-language cuts from 1993 to 2000. The spotlight here is on her later mainstream coups, such as the pumping dance revelry of "Heaven's What I Feel," the 1996 Summer Olympics theme "Reach," and…  See more details below


This second installment of Estefan's Greatest Hits shows her at the peak of her Latin-pop crossover powers, culling all her biggest English-language cuts from 1993 to 2000. The spotlight here is on her later mainstream coups, such as the pumping dance revelry of "Heaven's What I Feel," the 1996 Summer Olympics theme "Reach," and her cover of the Vicki Sue Robinson disco classic "Turn the Beat Around." "Oye" is just the sort of infectious techno salsa that wrote Miami Sound Machine into the annals of pop crossover history. Also included are two previously unreleased tunes, "Out of Nowhere" and the slow and sultry "Can't Walk Away from Love" from the new film Original Sin, starring Antonio Banderas and Angelina Jolie.

Editorial Reviews

All Music Guide - Jose F. Promis
Gloria Estefan's second volume of greatest hits seems more progressive than her first, considering the techno-leaning sounds of her 1990s hits which dominate this set as compared to the more straight-ahead pop from her 1980s hits. This collection assembles nearly all of her Hot 100 hits since her last Greatest Hits album (only "Don't Let This Moment End" is missing). Most of the songs are included in their original album versions, save for a couple which may be of interest to the collector. "If We Were Lovers," one of her loveliest and classiest ballads, was originally on the Mi Tierra album in its Spanish-language form, titled "Con Los Anos Que Me Quedan." The English version of the song had never been available on any of her albums until now. Also making its first appearance on a Gloria Estefan album is her duet with 'N Sync, "Music of My Heart." "You'll Be Mine (Party Time)" and "I'm Not Giving You Up" are featured in remixed forms which had previously only been available as singles. The real treat, however, are the three new songs, which rank among the singer's best, especially "You Can't Walk Away From Love," a dramatic, sweeping, Middle Eastern-tinged ballad. Also included is an updated remix of her first U.S. hit, "Conga." All in all, this is a fine greatest-hits album, almost superior to her first, with classy ballads, great pop songs, and high-energy dance numbers.

Product Details

Release Date:
Sbme Special Mkts.


Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gloria Estefan   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Cachao   Bass
Rene Toledo   Guitar
Nicki Richards   Background Vocals
Audrey Wheeler   Background Vocals
David Foster   Keyboards
David Nadien   Violin,Concert Master
Jon Secada   Vocals (Rhythm)
Luis Enrique   Percussion
Chamin Correa   Guitar,Requinto
Donna Allen   Background Vocals
Lamar Alsop   Viola
Abe Appleman   Violin
Elena Barere   Violin,Concert Master
John Beal   Bass
Edwin Bonilla   Percussion
Ed Calle   Flute,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jorge Casas   Bass
David Chappell   Viola
David Cole   Cello
Sal Cuevas   Bass
Mary Helen Ewing   Viola
Guillermo Figueroa   Violin
Barry Finclair   Violin
Crystal Garner   Violin
Hector Garrido   Conductor
Gerald Tarack   Violin
Andy Goldman   Guitar
Joyce Hammann   Violin
Regis Iandiorio   Violin
Harold Kohon   Violin
Olivia Koppell   Viola
Jeanne LeBlanc   Cello
Jesse Levy   Cello
Charles Libove   Violin
Gary Lindsay   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Richard Locker   Cello
Manny López   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Charles McCracken   Cello
Homer Mensch   Bass
Cynthia Mizelle   Background Vocals
Tony Moran   Background Vocals
Eugene J. Moye   Cello
Jan Mullen   Violin
Gene Orloff   Violin
Clay Ostwald   Keyboards
Sandra Park   Violin
Paul Peabody   Violin
Archie Pena   Percussion
John Pintavalle   Violin
Rita Quintero   Background Vocals
Matthew Raimondi   Violin
Dave Reitzas   Background Vocals
Robert Rozek   Violin
Catherine Russell   Background Vocals
Laura Seaton   Violin
Whit Sidener   Alto Saxophone
Dana Teboe   Trombone
Donna Tecco   Violin
Tom Timko   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Ellen Westerman   Cello
Frederick Zlotkin   Cello
Avril Brown   Violin
Olbin Burgos   Drums
Frank Cornelius   Bass
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Mike Scaglione   Saxophone
Roberto Blades   Background Vocals
Albert Sterling Menendez   Keyboards
Heidi Modr   Violin
Eric Wyrick   Violin
Randall Barlow   Trumpet,Background Vocals
Jim Hacker   Trumpet
Sarah Moore   Choir, Chorus
George Noriega   Background Vocals
Luis Quintero   Percussion,Conga,Timbales
John DiPuccio   Violin
Peter "Ski" Schwartz   Keyboards
Kike Santander   Guitar,Keyboards
Tony Coluccio   Keyboards
Shaun Fisher   Choir, Chorus
Davonda Afolabi   Choir, Chorus
Gustavo Correa   Violin
Scott Flavin   Violin
Chris Glansdorp   Cello
Bakithi Kumalo   Bass
Mei Mei Luo   Violin
Rick Melverne   Choir, Chorus
Steve Menezes   Background Vocals
Doug Michels   Trumpet
Bruce Wethey   Violin
Bogumila Zgraja   Violin
Giuseppe D.   Keyboards
Paolo Gualano   Surdo,Snare Drums
Rick Morris   Choir, Chorus
Susan Moyer   Cello
Angee Blake   Background Vocals
Sharon Diacheysn   Choir, Chorus
Joan Faigen   Violin
Miriam Stern   Violin
Pop Rox   Percussion
John Slater   Percussion
Herman "Teddy" Mulet   Trombone,Horn
Gennady Aronin   Violin
Carole Cole   Violin
Ross Harbaugh   Cello
Juan Jose Wuinonez   Background Vocals
Glen Basham   Violin
Luisa Bustamante   Cello
Ramses Colón   Double Bass
Miami Symphonic Strings   Strings
Gerry Miller   Violin
Steve Svensson   Viola
Sania Derevianko   Violin
Leonid Sigal   Violin
Kenny Anderson   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Deena Shapiro   Viola
Diane Wiseberg   Viola
Robert Moore   Cello
Geoffrey Bowater   Double Bass

Technical Credits

David Foster   Arranger,Producer
Jon Secada   Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Gerald Jackson   Composer
Steven Barkan   Engineer,Remixing
Ed Calle   Horn Arrangements
Jorge Casas   Producer
Felipe Elgueta   Engineer
Emilio Estefan   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Executive Producer
Hector Garrido   Orchestration
Humberto Gatica   Vocal Engineer
Pete Jackson   Composer
Tony Moran   Arranger,Producer
Clay Ostwald   Arranger,Producer
Nathaniel Seidman   Arranger,Programming
Tommy Uzzo   Engineer
Marcelo Añez   Engineer
Sebastián Krys   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Freddy Piñero   Engineer
Ron Taylor   Engineer
Alberto Tolot   Cover Photo
William Ross   String Arrangements
Randall Barlow   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Kenny Dope   drum programming
Peter "Ski" Schwartz   Programming
Pablo Flores   Remixing
Julian Peploe   Art Direction
Kike Santander   Arranger,Producer,Vocal Effect
Javier Garza   Engineer,Remixing
Tony Coluccio   Programming
Andy Lee   Remixing
Darrin Tidsey   Programming
Gustavo Celis   Engineer
Dave Saronson   Engineer
Giuseppe D.   Programming
Alfred Figueroa   Engineer
Jeff Taylor   Remixing
Eric Schilling   Arranger,Engineer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >