Green Mansions (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Green Mansions (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

4.7 9
by W. H. Hudson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Modern classic tells the compelling story of Rima, a strange birdlike girl of the jungle, and Abel, the European who falls in love with her. The book owes much of its popularity to the mystic, near-religious feeling that pervades the story and the beauty of Rima's halting, poetic expressions. The author's knowledge and understanding of nature, the jungle and

Overview


Modern classic tells the compelling story of Rima, a strange birdlike girl of the jungle, and Abel, the European who falls in love with her. The book owes much of its popularity to the mystic, near-religious feeling that pervades the story and the beauty of Rima's halting, poetic expressions. The author's knowledge and understanding of nature, the jungle and grasslands lend special authenticity to this captivating fantasy.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781411431300
Publisher:
Barnes & Noble
Publication date:
09/01/2009
Series:
Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
675,997
File size:
636 KB

Meet the Author


Though he never visited Venezuela himself, William Henry Hudson (1841-1922) was born and raised in South America, on the pampas of Argentina. His parents were emigrants from the United States who bought a ranch not far from Buenos Aires. Young Hudson’s great interest was natural history, particularly birds. He read Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species and works of other naturalists when he was quite young, and he collected bird specimens for the Smithsonian Institution, He left for England in 1874, where he lived for decades in great poverty, struggling to make a living as a writer; he married his boardinghouse landlady and in 1900 became a British citizen. Among his publications were novels (beginning with The Purple Land in 1885), short-story collections, ornithological studies and personal reminiscences, but none, including Green Mansions in 1904, lifted him out of poverty. It was only in 1916, when he was seventy-five, that Green Mansions was reprinted to great acclaim—the first book published by Alfred A. Knopf—making Hudson almost overnight a literary celebrity. Among his later books, Far Away and Long Ago: History of My Early Life (1918) was perhaps the most praised.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Green Mansions (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you believe that all life of this earth shares a common bond (we are all connected as is our destiny), and you want documentation to bolster that view, read 'Green Mansions'. But don't stop there! Find and read Hudson's books on England following his emigration as a young man in his 30's. CHEERS!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story of ill-fated love set in the lush forests of Venezuela is surprisingly modern in its outlook on humankind's relationship to nature - and in its refusal to provide an easy resolution to its poignant narrative. Fans of Rand Johnson's 'Arcadia Falls, A Fable' - another haunting and mysterious book that uses a star-crossed romance to explore man's impact on the natural world - will love this.
Kate23BR More than 1 year ago
I purchased this for my great neice who had surgery. I did so because it was one of my favorite books growing up.
C28 More than 1 year ago
Green Mansions is a beautifully written love story. Hudson's descriptions of nature and wild life are breath taking. I was very moved by the love Rima had for the jungle, and it's creatures, as well as the love that her and Abel shared.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
<p>