Gustav Gloom and the People Taker #1

( 3 )

Overview


Enter an exciting new world of shadows from Hugo Award nominee Adam-Troy Castro. Meet Gustav Gloom.

Fernie What finds herself lost in the Gloom mansion after her cat appears to have been chased there by its own shadow. Fernie discovers a library full of every book that was never written, a gallery of statues that are just plain awkward, and finds herself at dinner watching her own shadow take part in the feast!

Along the way Fernie is chased ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$11.00
BN.com price
(Save 15%)$12.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (38) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $2.00   
  • Used (26) from $1.99   
Gustav Gloom and the People Taker #1

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview


Enter an exciting new world of shadows from Hugo Award nominee Adam-Troy Castro. Meet Gustav Gloom.

Fernie What finds herself lost in the Gloom mansion after her cat appears to have been chased there by its own shadow. Fernie discovers a library full of every book that was never written, a gallery of statues that are just plain awkward, and finds herself at dinner watching her own shadow take part in the feast!

Along the way Fernie is chased by the People Taker who is determined to take her to the Shadow Country. It's up to Fernie and Gustav to stop the People Taker before he takes Fernie's family.

Featuring a unique cover and beautifully dark full-page illustrations by Kristen Margiotta, Gustav Gloom is sure to be a hit with fans who love a little darkness in their lives.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 4–6—Here's a great read for fans of dark tales with happy endings, not to mention wonderful graphite illustrations. Ten-year-old Fernie and her 12-year-old sister, Pearlie, have just moved into their brightly painted house on Sunnyside Terrace amid all the other cheery homes, save for the black mansion directly across the street. This is Gustav Gloom's house. Gustav is a soulful looking 10-year-old with an unusual secret: he is neither human nor shadow and cannot leave the confines of his dark, mysterious house. The People Taker and his Beast and a library in Gustav's house figure significantly in the story. In a clever twist on the perplexing question of self (and possibly inspired by the saying "Afraid of his own shadow"), Castro explores how we are defined by our physical bodies, imbuing shadows with personalities and wills of their own. Fernie is a stereotype-bending heroine who gives readers something to consider when defining gender roles. And finally, the eternal theme of friendship is beautifully explored in the relationship that develops between Fernie and Gustav. Castro's well-paced story keeps readers engaged in these relationships and in the mystery that unfolds. This is a satisfying introduction for middle grade readers into the scary and dark themes that resonate so well with teens. Fans of Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark & Grimm (Dutton, 2010) can add this to their list of creepy tales.—Mary Beth Rassulo, Ridgefield Library, CT
Kirkus Reviews
In this promising series opener, a homicidal maniac stalks two children through a spooky old house that's far larger inside than outside. Newly moved in across the street, 10-year-old Fernie chases her errant cat through the front door of the mist-wreathed mansion one night, quickly losing herself in a seemingly endless tangle of dark halls and dim rooms. There she meets Gustav, a pale and perpetually somber age-mate who explains that the house is home to millions of unattached shadows--and that she is in immediate danger from the People Taker, evil minion of the Dark Country's would-be ruler Lord Obsidian. The ensuing flight takes the two young people through a library containing all the books never written, a room filled with the shadows of all the dinosaurs that ever were and like repositories to a climactic struggle with the genial (as it turns out) villain at the lip of the Pit leading to the Dark Country. Along the way Fernie discovers that though shadows are a little more substantial within the house, even in the outside world they are not really attached to solid bodies and actually have volition and lives of their own. Who would have guessed? Margiotta opens each chapter with appropriately atmospheric scenes of big-eyed waifs against undulating backgrounds. The author leaves much to be explored and explained in future episodes, but fans of Unfortunate Events will be willing to wait. (Fantasy. 10-12)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780448458335
  • Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
  • Publication date: 8/16/2012
  • Series: Gustav Gloom Series
  • Pages: 232
  • Sales rank: 500,024
  • Age range: 8 - 12 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.48 (w) x 7.76 (h) x 0.94 (d)

Meet the Author


Adam-Troy Castro lives in Miami, Florida.

Kristen Margiotta lives in Newark, Delaware.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    A great entryway to an exciting new world where shadows are as r

    A great entryway to an exciting new world where shadows are as real as
    the people they look like. Gustav Gloom and Fernie What are well
    rounded characters with a ton to say about just everything. A pleasure
    to read and the illustrations are wonderful! A definite must read for
    kids and adults alike. If you enjoyed the Lemony Snicket series or
    Roald Dahl's children's books, then Castro's Gustav Gloom is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    gustav gloom

    Hi,my name is Sarah.Im 11 years old and love reading.So far Gustav Gloom and the people taker is my second favorite book I would say this book is about a 5 and a 1/2 on a scale from 0 to 10. I really havent put down the book. Its so exiting and full of danger!This book is heart stoping.

    love,
    Sarah

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Now the truth

    Gustav gloom is one of the best children's book I've ever read. Even though it's a childrens book I really enjoyed it! The book is scary at some parts and really funny! Please read this book its good. Though i recommend it to children under 12. Enjoj!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Luv

    It is a very good book so far

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)