Gustav Gloom and the People Taker #1

Gustav Gloom and the People Taker #1

4.6 3
by Adam-Troy Castro, Kristen Margiotta
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Enter an exciting new world of shadows from Hugo Award nominee Adam-Troy Castro. Meet Gustav Gloom.

Fernie What finds herself lost in the Gloom mansion after her cat appears to have been chased there by its own shadow. Fernie discovers a library full of every book that was never written, a gallery of statues that are just plain awkward, and finds herself at

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

Enter an exciting new world of shadows from Hugo Award nominee Adam-Troy Castro. Meet Gustav Gloom.

Fernie What finds herself lost in the Gloom mansion after her cat appears to have been chased there by its own shadow. Fernie discovers a library full of every book that was never written, a gallery of statues that are just plain awkward, and finds herself at dinner watching her own shadow take part in the feast!

Along the way Fernie is chased by the People Taker who is determined to take her to the Shadow Country. It's up to Fernie and Gustav to stop the People Taker before he takes Fernie's family.

Featuring a unique cover and beautifully dark full-page illustrations by Kristen Margiotta, Gustav Gloom is sure to be a hit with fans who love a little darkness in their lives.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 4–6—Here's a great read for fans of dark tales with happy endings, not to mention wonderful graphite illustrations. Ten-year-old Fernie and her 12-year-old sister, Pearlie, have just moved into their brightly painted house on Sunnyside Terrace amid all the other cheery homes, save for the black mansion directly across the street. This is Gustav Gloom's house. Gustav is a soulful looking 10-year-old with an unusual secret: he is neither human nor shadow and cannot leave the confines of his dark, mysterious house. The People Taker and his Beast and a library in Gustav's house figure significantly in the story. In a clever twist on the perplexing question of self (and possibly inspired by the saying "Afraid of his own shadow"), Castro explores how we are defined by our physical bodies, imbuing shadows with personalities and wills of their own. Fernie is a stereotype-bending heroine who gives readers something to consider when defining gender roles. And finally, the eternal theme of friendship is beautifully explored in the relationship that develops between Fernie and Gustav. Castro's well-paced story keeps readers engaged in these relationships and in the mystery that unfolds. This is a satisfying introduction for middle grade readers into the scary and dark themes that resonate so well with teens. Fans of Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark & Grimm (Dutton, 2010) can add this to their list of creepy tales.—Mary Beth Rassulo, Ridgefield Library, CT
Kirkus Reviews
In this promising series opener, a homicidal maniac stalks two children through a spooky old house that's far larger inside than outside. Newly moved in across the street, 10-year-old Fernie chases her errant cat through the front door of the mist-wreathed mansion one night, quickly losing herself in a seemingly endless tangle of dark halls and dim rooms. There she meets Gustav, a pale and perpetually somber age-mate who explains that the house is home to millions of unattached shadows--and that she is in immediate danger from the People Taker, evil minion of the Dark Country's would-be ruler Lord Obsidian. The ensuing flight takes the two young people through a library containing all the books never written, a room filled with the shadows of all the dinosaurs that ever were and like repositories to a climactic struggle with the genial (as it turns out) villain at the lip of the Pit leading to the Dark Country. Along the way Fernie discovers that though shadows are a little more substantial within the house, even in the outside world they are not really attached to solid bodies and actually have volition and lives of their own. Who would have guessed? Margiotta opens each chapter with appropriately atmospheric scenes of big-eyed waifs against undulating backgrounds. The author leaves much to be explored and explained in future episodes, but fans of Unfortunate Events will be willing to wait. (Fantasy. 10-12)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780448458335
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
08/16/2012
Series:
Gustav Gloom Series
Pages:
232
Sales rank:
1,427,210
Product dimensions:
5.48(w) x 7.76(h) x 0.94(d)
Lexile:
NC1100L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >