Handel: Messiah, HWV 56

Handel: Messiah, HWV 56

by Concentus Musicus Wien

Product Details

Release Date:
Elektra / Wea

Related Subjects


Disc 1

  1. Part 1. Symphony
  2. Part 1. Accompagnato. Comvort ye
  3. Part 1. Aria. Ev'ry valley
  4. Part 1. Chorus. And the glory of the Lord
  5. Part 1. Accompagnato. Thus said the Lord
  6. Part 1. Aria. But who may abide
  7. Part 1. Chorus. And He shall purify
  8. Part 1. Recitative. Behold, a virgin shall conceive
  9. Part 1. Aria and Chorus. O thou that tellest good tidings
  10. Part 1. Accompagnato. For behold, darkness shall cover the earth
  11. Part 1. Aria. The people that walked in darkness
  12. Part 1. Chorus. For unto us a Child is born
  13. Part 1. Pifa
  14. Part 1. Recitative. There were shepherds
  15. Part 1. Accompagnato. And lo, the angel of the Lord
  16. Part 1. Recitative. And the angel said unto them
  17. Part 1. Accompagnato. And suddenly there was with the angel
  18. Part 1. Chorus. Glory to God
  19. Part 1. Aria. Rejoice greatly
  20. Part 1. Recitative. Then shall the eyes of the blind
  21. Part 1. Duet. He shall feed His flock
  22. Part 1. Chorus. His yoke is easy
  23. Part 2. Chorus. Behold the Lamb of God
  24. Part 2. Aria. He was despised

Disc 2

  1. Part 2. Chorus. Surely, He hath borne our griefs
  2. Part 2. Chorus. And with His stripes
  3. Part 2. Chorus. All we like sheep have gone astray
  4. Part 2. Accompagnato. All they that see Him
  5. Part 2. Chorus. He trusted in God
  6. Part 2. Accompagnato. Thy rebuke hath broken His heart
  7. Part 2. Arioso. Behold, and see
  8. Part 2. Accompagnato. He was cut off
  9. Part 2. Aria. But Thou didst not leave
  10. Part 2. Chorus. Lift up your heads
  11. Part 2. Recitative. Unto which of the angels
  12. Part 2. Chorus. Let all the angels of God
  13. Part 2. Aria. Thou art gone up on high
  14. Part 2. Chorus. The Lord gave the word
  15. Part 2. Aria. How beautiful are the feet of them
  16. Part 2. Chorus. Their sound is gone out
  17. Part 2. Aria. Why do the nations
  18. Part 2. Chorus. Let us break their bonds asunder
  19. Part 2. Recitative. He that dwelleth in heaven
  20. Part 2. Aria. Thou shalt break them
  21. Part 2. Chorus. Hallelujah
  22. Part 3. Aria. I know that my Redeemer liveth
  23. Part 3. Chorus. Since by man came death
  24. Part 3. Accompagnato. Behold, I tell you a mystery
  25. Part 3. Aria. The trumpet shall sound
  26. Part 3. Recitative. Then shall be brought to pass
  27. Part 3. Duet. O death, where is thy sting
  28. Part 3. Chorus. But thanks be to God
  29. Part 3. Aria. If God be for us
  30. Part 3. Chorus. Worthy is the Lamb

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Concentus Musicus Wien   Primary Artist,Performing Ensemble
Elizabeth Gale   Soprano (Vocal)
Nikolaus Harnoncourt   Conductor
Werner Hollweg   Tenor (Vocal)
Eric Ericson   Choir Master
Roderick Kennedy   Bass (Vocal)
Marjana Lipovsek   Alto (Vocal)
Stockholm Chamber Choir   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

George Frideric Handel   Composer
Jean-Baptiste Fauré   translation
Tage Olhagen   Engineer
Eva Reisinger   Liner Notes
Stewart Spencer   translation,Liner Note Translation
Helmut Mühle   Engineer
Charles Jennens   Text
Jean Faure   Liner Note Translation
Helmut A. Muhle   Engineer
H. Alteus   Executive Producer
Heinrich J. Weritz   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >