Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hannah Grace (Daughters of Jacob Kane #1)

Hannah Grace (Daughters of Jacob Kane #1)

4.7 8
by Sharlene MacLaren

See All Formats & Editions

Hannah Grace Kane has her life planned out in an orderly, meaningful way-or so she thinks. But her world turns upside down when the new sheriff comes to town.


Hannah Grace Kane has her life planned out in an orderly, meaningful way-or so she thinks. But her world turns upside down when the new sheriff comes to town.

Product Details

Whitaker House
Publication date:
Daughters of Jacob Kane
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Sales rank:
File size:
521 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Born and raised in western Michigan, Sharlene MacLaren attended Spring Arbor University. After graduating, she traveled, then married one of her childhood friends, and together they raised two lovely daughters. Now happily retired after teaching elementary school for thirty-one years, “Shar” enjoys reading, singing in the church choir and worship teams, traveling, and spending time with her husband, children, and precious grandchildren—and, of course, writing. Shar is an occasional speaker for her local MOPS organization; is involved in KIDS’ HOPE USA, a mentoring program for at-risk children; counsels young women in the Apples of Gold program; and is active in two weekly Bible studies. She and her husband, Cecil, live in Spring Lake, Michigan, with Mocha, their lazy, fat cat.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hannah Grace (Daughters of Jacob Kane #1) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read Sharlene MacLaren's with her Little Hickman Series with Loving Liza Jane. Her style immediately drew me in. As I tell everyone I'm addicted to her writing. This story is the firt of another historical series. I actually carried this book around with me everywhere I went, reading with every spare minute I could find. But when I moved my bedroom around, I LOST it. I tore my house apart trying to find it. I HAD to know what happened. While I was willing to purchase another copy, I did find it and I read for the most part of the next two days to finish it. Great job! Awesome story. Wonderful, loveable characters. I can't wait to visit Sandy Shores again with the next book. Besides a delightful tale this story was anything but cookie cutter. The plot twists and humor were elements you can expect in any of her novels.
BookLoverInNeLA More than 1 year ago
Hannah Grace is a good start in the story of The Daughters of Jacob Kane series. The new bachelor Sheriff of Sandy Shores, Michigan, Gabriel Devlin, finds himself in charge of a young boy, Jesse. Hannah Grace and her family cares for Jesse during the day when Gabe works during the day. What neither of them know is that Jesse saw something he shouldn't have and the bad guys are after him -- determined to shut him up. This story is full of suspense and romance. I would recommend this book by Sharlene MacLaren to anyone who likes to read a good story.
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite series of books is Shar MacLaren's Little Hickman Creek series. In the first book, "Loving Liza Jane", I was just captivated with her writing style, the storyline, the settings and the characters. She didn't disappoint in the following books either. I was sad to see that series end. So when I heard that she was writing the Daughters of Jacob Kane series I knew I wanted to check it out right away! So I delved into Hannah Grace and am so pleased to say that the settings, characters and storylines have changed - but Shar's writing style is fully intact and she has another series that is sure to be a winner. I really liked Hannah Grace and can't wait to see where she takes us with Maggie Rose and Abi Ann. She has picked another unique time and place and put a cast of characters around Hannah that made for a delightful jaunt everytime I opened the book. A new sheriff, a mute orphan, dad, 2 sisters, a band of murderers and thieves - a general store (I've always been delighted by general stores, maybe it's a Little House on the Prairie thing, I don't know), a growing town and the year 1904. It's fantastic. I'm already looking forward to the next one!
ilovetoreadTN More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Great storyline.
lovetoreadPL More than 1 year ago
awesome well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wbarker More than 1 year ago
Perfect for : Personal reading, book club read

In a nutshell: This is a very enjoyable book. I was instantly pulled into the story. The Kane family is wonderful, and Hannah Grace (the eldest Kane daughter) is a wonderful and spirited young woman. She meets the new sheriff, Gabe Devlin, under strange circumstances, basically accusing him of abusing the boy he is with, who quickly runs out of the family store, Kane's Whatnot, causing Gabe to run after him, and Hannah to later storm into the Sheriff's office where she comes face to face with Gabe. I just love the pace of the book. It kept my attention riveted from start to finish. This is a fun read.

Extended Review:

Characters: I fell in love with the Kane family: daughters Hannah Grace, Abbie Ann and Maggie Rose , father Jacob Kane, and grandmother Helena. Gabe is the new sherrif in town, and he unknowingly brings Jesse Gant with him. Each character is wonderfully different from the others and helps the story to unfold in a way that keeps the reader's attention.

Story-Line: The book starts with a spirited discussion in the Kane household, and maintains its momentum throughout the book. I loved the intrigue surrounding Jesse, and the position it put Hannah Grace and Sherrif Devlin into.

Readability: I thought this book was an easy read and enjoyable from start to finish.

Overall: I absolutely love the cover! Isn't it beautiful?? I really enjoyed the book, and will be recommending it at my next book club. I will also keep my eyes out for the next book in the series!