Harmony

Harmony

4.5 2
by Project Itoh
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In a perfect world, there is no escape

Reads L to R (Western Style). In a perfect world, there is no escape

In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. This perfect world isn't that perfect though, and three young girls stand up to totalitarian kindness and

…  See more details below

Overview

In a perfect world, there is no escape

Reads L to R (Western Style). In a perfect world, there is no escape

In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. This perfect world isn't that perfect though, and three young girls stand up to totalitarian kindness and super-medicine by attempting suicide via starvation. It doesn't work, but one of the girls—Tuan Kirie—grows up to be a member of the World Health Organization. As a crisis threatens the harmony of the new world, Tuan rediscovers another member of her suicide pact, and together they must help save the planet...from itself.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—Itoh ups the dystopian-fiction ante considerably by including a backstory, main plot, and postcript, each of which is disturbing in its own way. In Japan, Tuan Kirie and her friends Miach Mihie and Cian Reikado are taught about a period called the Maelstrom during which nuclear bombs and diseases ran rampant and destroyed the country once known as the United States of America. A horror of disease has driven the older generation to remake society, replacing nation-states with smaller "admedistrations," organizational bodies that use nanotech "medicules" and societal pressure to ensure that each person is as healthy as possible. The three teenagers, led by Miach, attempt to use this technology to commit suicide and thus rob society of valuable resources—their own lives. Miach is successful but Cian reveals the plot and she and Tuan are saved. Thirteen years later, Tuan continues to rebel, even while she attains a high-level position in the international medical police corps. It is under this aegis that she investigates when Cian commits suicide (one of thousands, worldwide). During her search, Tuan discovers that there may be something even more repugnant than a world of perfectly healthy people. Itoh presents a future in which humanity willingly collaborates in its own subjugation to "medical correctness." Fans of Orwell and Westerfeld will find this novel intriguing.—Eric Norton, McMillan Memorial Library, Wisconsin Rapids, WI

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781421536439
Publisher:
Haikasoru
Publication date:
07/20/2010
Series:
Itoh Harmony Series
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
300
Sales rank:
227,330
Product dimensions:
5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile:
870L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Keikaku (Project) Itoh was born in Tokyo in 1974. He graduated from the Musashino Art University. In 2007, he debuted with Gakusatsu Kikan(Genocidal Organs), and took first prize of the “Best SF of 2007” in SF Magazine. He is also the author of Metal Gear Solid: Guns of the Patriots, a Japanerse-language novel based on the popular video game series. After a long battle with cancer, Itoh passed away in March 2009. Harmony was revised by Itoh while in the hospital, receiving treatment for the disease.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >