Hatteras Blue (Tiller Galloway Series #1)

Hatteras Blue (Tiller Galloway Series #1)

3.0 1
by David Poyer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"There can be no better writer of modern sea adventure around today." – Clive Cussler

USA Today-bestselling author David Poyer writes gripping undersea thrillers in the tradition of Clive Cussler and John D. MacDonald. On a moonless night in March, 1945, a Coast Guard destroyer sank a German U-Boat fifty miles off Hatteras Island, the Graveyard of the

Overview

"There can be no better writer of modern sea adventure around today." – Clive Cussler

USA Today-bestselling author David Poyer writes gripping undersea thrillers in the tradition of Clive Cussler and John D. MacDonald. On a moonless night in March, 1945, a Coast Guard destroyer sank a German U-Boat fifty miles off Hatteras Island, the Graveyard of the Atlantic. Now, a half-century later, the mummified corpses of three of its crewmen, wrapped in a decaying rubber raft, come to light during the excavation for a new shopping development. Their reappearance unleashes a tide of powerful forces . . . neo-Nazis with a ruthless plan to corner the South American drug market, an Isreali intelligence operative, and a shadowy, wealthy "historian" with his own, even more dangerous plan.

When Hatteras native, salvage diver, and ex-con Lyle "Tiller" Galloway III starts digging into the discovery, he's forced by a black island family cheated of their beachfront land to take on a dangerous silent partner. Together, he and Shadrach Aydlett will track down what actually happened in the Carolina sand hills so long before, and what everyone's really after . . . tons of long-lost Nazi gold. And finally, face down a ruthless killer in a gut-wrenching battle that climaxes hundreds of feet beneath the surface.

Taut with vividly-told diving scenes, and delving deep into the rich lore and oral traditions of the Outer Banks, HATTERAS BLUE's rare original hardcover edition sells for over a hundred dollars. This new ebook edition has been revised and updated by the author to make it even more fast-paced, exciting, and authentic.

Editorial Reviews

Muncie Star - Staff Writer
"Compelling! One of the best mystery adventures about the sea I've encountered."
Ocala Star-Banner - Staff Reviewer
"Plot twists and turns that chart a tricky course through the deep waters of human need and greed."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940016168302
Publisher:
Northampton House Press
Publication date:
01/01/2013
Series:
Tiller Galloway Series , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
182,977
File size:
287 KB

Meet the Author

Millions of copies of Dave Poyer's thirty-plus bestsellers are in print, including THE MED, THE GULF, THE CIRCLE, THE PASSAGE, TOMAHAWK, CHINA SEA, BLACK STORM, THE COMMAND, THE THREAT, KOREA STRAIT, THE WEAPON, THE CRISIS, and THE TOWERS, bestselling novels of the modern Navy and Marine Corps; historical fiction set during the Civil War; the Hemlock County thrillers, THE DEAD OF WINTER, WINTER IN THE HEART, AS THE WOLF LOVES WINTER, and THUNDER ON THE MOUNTAIN; and the other Tiller Galloway diving adventures, BAHAMAS BLUE, LOUISIANA BLUE, and DOWN TO A SUNLESS SEA. Poyer's work has been translated into Japanese, Dutch, and Italian, and rights and options have been sold for films. A sport diver and sailor, he lives on Virginia's Eastern Shore and teaches writing at Wilkes University.

Facebook: David Poyer
Website: www.poyer.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Hatteras Blue (Tiller Galloway Series #1) 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Testosterone and sea water. This is fast, formulaic men's adventure fiction with no literary pretentions of any kind. What's the sunken German sub's cargo? Why did three men come ashore on the Outer Banks from the doomed u-boat? Haven't we seen these plot elements in other books? An okay way to kill time in an airport or in a crowded subway car where concentration is impossible. Heaven help us if Clive Cussler's book cover blurb is true and 'There can be no better writer of modern sea adventure around today.'