Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
  • Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
  • Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
  • Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
<Previous >Next

Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World

4.2 4
by Claire Fontaine, Mia Fontaine
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A mother, a daughter, and a life-changing adventure around the world . . .

Their bestselling memoir, Come Back, moved and inspired readers with the story of Mia Fontaine's harrowing drug addiction and her mother, Claire's, desperate and ultimately successful attempts to save her. Now it's a decade later and Claire and Mia each face a defining moment

…  See more details below

Overview

A mother, a daughter, and a life-changing adventure around the world . . .

Their bestselling memoir, Come Back, moved and inspired readers with the story of Mia Fontaine's harrowing drug addiction and her mother, Claire's, desperate and ultimately successful attempts to save her. Now it's a decade later and Claire and Mia each face a defining moment in her life, and a mother-daughter relationship that has frayed around the edges. At fifty-one, Claire's shed her identity as Mia's savior but realizes that, oops, she forgot to plan for life after motherhood; Mia, twenty-five and eager to step outside her role as recovery's poster child, finds adult life isn't all it's cracked up to be. Determined to transform themselves and their relationship once again, the pair sets off on a five-month around-the-world adventure.

What awaits them is an extraordinary, often hilarious journey through twenty cities and twelve countries—one that includes mishaps, mayhem, and unexpected joys, from a passport-eating elephant to a calamitous camel ride around the Pyramids—and finally making peace with their tumultuous past in the lavender fields of France, where they live for the last four months of the trip. Seeing how self-possessed and community-minded twentysomethings are in other countries broadens Mia's perspective, helping her grow, and grow up. Claire uses the trip to examine her broken relationship with her own mother, a Holocaust survivor, and to create a vision for her second act. Watching her mom assess half a century of life, Mia comes to know her as Claire has always known Mia—as all mothers know their daughters—better than anyone else, and often better than themselves.

Wiser for what they've learned from women in other cultures, and from each other, they return with a deepened sense of who they are and where they want to go—and with each embracing the mature friendship they've discovered and the profound love they share.

Alternating between Claire and Mia's compelling and distinct voices, Have Mother, Will Travel is a testament to the power and beauty of the mother-daughter relationship, one that illuminates possibilities for our own lives.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Claire Fontaine's attempt to rescue her daughter Mia from drug addiction wasn't just a success; it resulted in a memoir that Glamour hailed as the "best mother-daughter memoir." Now, ten years after Come Back, mother and daughter depart on a globe-trotting tour that takes them to twelve countries and to breakthrough discoveries about themselves, each other, and the world out yonder. A travel memoir worth remembering; a fine recommendation for readers of books like Eat, Pray, Love.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062109637
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/17/2012
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
360,825
File size:
1 MB

Videos

Meet the Author

Claire Fontaine and Mia Fontaine are the coauthors of the bestselling memoir Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back.

A former screenwriter, Claire divides her time between the United States and Europe, where she is researching a historical novel and doing a comparative analysis of les éclairs au chocolat de Paris. She is also a certified relationship coach and a certified life coach.

A popular motivational speaker, Mia has written for the New York Times, Huffington Post, Ms. magazine, and Atlantic Online, and is currently at work on a narrative nonfiction book that combines four of her greatest interests: travel, human behavior, history, and culture. She lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A piece of nonfiction which was perfect as a read a long with my mom! We were both provided the book for review and decided that it would be neat to read it together so we could talk about it. I knew that it was written by a mother/daughter duo and assumed that I would fall in love with the daughter's voice because it would be so similar to my own thoughts as we are close in age, but this was not the case. From the beginning I loved reading the parts written by the mother, Claire - her words challenged me, maybe because I am used to hearing the daughter perspective in my own mind and like to read the other side of the coin!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SDM More than 1 year ago
I found this book delightful. I could relate to both the mother and the daughter and I loved seeing/hearing both points of view. This book is very touching and insightful. I look forward to reading more books written by Claire Fontaine and Mia Fontaine.
MomsChoiceAwards More than 1 year ago
Have Mother, Will Travel is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom&rsquo;s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS&rsquo;s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom&rsquo;s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.