Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
  • Alternative view 1 of Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
  • Alternative view 2 of Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
  • Alternative view 3 of Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World
<Previous >Next

Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World

4.2 4
by Claire Fontaine, Mia Fontaine
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Glamour magazine called Come Back, the first nonfiction collaboration by Claire and Mia Fontaine, the “best mother-daughter memoir,” while the New York Times Book Review praised it as, “a testament to the power of the love.”

The Fontaines are back with Have Mother, Will Travel, a beautiful,

…  See more details below

Overview

Glamour magazine called Come Back, the first nonfiction collaboration by Claire and Mia Fontaine, the “best mother-daughter memoir,” while the New York Times Book Review praised it as, “a testament to the power of the love.”

The Fontaines are back with Have Mother, Will Travel, a beautiful, thoughtful, insightful, inspiring book that brilliantly captures the changing relationship between a mother and her adult daughter. Seen within the context of an unforgettable round-the-world adventure, the emotional milestones reached and the new understandings and appreciations achieved will warm the heart and nourish the soul—an extraordinary journey that should not be missed by armchair travelers and by mothers and daughters everywhere.

Editorial Reviews

Claire Fontaine's attempt to rescue her daughter Mia from drug addiction wasn't just a success; it resulted in a memoir that Glamour hailed as the "best mother-daughter memoir." Now, ten years after Come Back, mother and daughter depart on a globe-trotting tour that takes them to twelve countries and to breakthrough discoveries about themselves, each other, and the world out yonder. A travel memoir worth remembering; a fine recommendation for readers of books like Eat, Pray, Love.

Library Journal
Everyone loves finding-oneself travel memoirs, and this one has a particular hook; it follows up Come Back, the best-selling story of Claire Fontaine's efforts to rescue daughter Mia from drug addiction. A decade later, they were eager to move beyond the roles defined in that book and launched a six-month, 16-city, 12-country getting-restarted tour, featured here, with adventures that included a passport-eating elephant. With 50,000-copy first printing.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062109637
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
07/17/2012
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
233,469
File size:
1 MB

Videos

Meet the Author

Claire Fontaine and Mia Fontaine are the coauthors of the bestselling memoir Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back.

A former screenwriter, Claire divides her time between the United States and Europe, where she is researching a historical novel and doing a comparative analysis of les éclairs au chocolat de Paris. She is also a certified relationship coach and a certified life coach.

A popular motivational speaker, Mia has written for the New York Times, Huffington Post, Ms. magazine, and Atlantic Online, and is currently at work on a narrative nonfiction book that combines four of her greatest interests: travel, human behavior, history, and culture. She lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Have Mother, Will Travel: A Mother and Daughter Discover Themselves, Each Other, and the World 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A piece of nonfiction which was perfect as a read a long with my mom! We were both provided the book for review and decided that it would be neat to read it together so we could talk about it. I knew that it was written by a mother/daughter duo and assumed that I would fall in love with the daughter's voice because it would be so similar to my own thoughts as we are close in age, but this was not the case. From the beginning I loved reading the parts written by the mother, Claire - her words challenged me, maybe because I am used to hearing the daughter perspective in my own mind and like to read the other side of the coin!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SDM More than 1 year ago
I found this book delightful. I could relate to both the mother and the daughter and I loved seeing/hearing both points of view. This book is very touching and insightful. I look forward to reading more books written by Claire Fontaine and Mia Fontaine.
MomsChoiceAwards More than 1 year ago
Have Mother, Will Travel is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom&rsquo;s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS&rsquo;s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom&rsquo;s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.