HEAD DEAD WEST: The Zombie Preserve (for fans of Max Brooks, Rhiannon Frater, and Alden Bell)

HEAD DEAD WEST: The Zombie Preserve (for fans of Max Brooks, Rhiannon Frater, and Alden Bell)

4.0 1
by Max King
     
 

Fans of Max Brooks, Robert Kirkman, and AMC’s Walking Dead TV series will love this new series from author Max King!

When Blake Prose arrives at the Great Wall of the infamous Oregon Zombie Preserve, he isn’t looking for adventure, thrills, or romance. All the young Texan wants is to survive the trek across the gruesome territory and reunite…  See more details below

Overview

Fans of Max Brooks, Robert Kirkman, and AMC’s Walking Dead TV series will love this new series from author Max King!

When Blake Prose arrives at the Great Wall of the infamous Oregon Zombie Preserve, he isn’t looking for adventure, thrills, or romance. All the young Texan wants is to survive the trek across the gruesome territory and reunite with his brother in Portland. But Blake has a smart mouth and a big heart. He isn’t even out of the train station before he finds himself tangling with a vicious desperado, flirting with a vivacious scientist, and guarding a mysterious orphan girl — a vortex of trouble that will soon drag him into realms of horror and wonder far exceeding anything his travel guides advertised.

The first in a three part volume, Head Dead West: The Zombie Preserve follows Blake as he scrambles to escape dungeons, zombies, and mobs, all while struggling to decide whether his destiny should be shaped by his lifelong plans or by his new friends. A post-apocalyptic steam-punk western that romps through the philosophical and macabre, Head Dead West is a fast-paced passport to wild dystopian adventure.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940148907954
Publisher:
ZEAL BOOKS
Publication date:
11/27/2013
Series:
Head Dead West , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
847,698
File size:
836 KB

Meet the Author

Max King lives and writes in Portland, Oregon, roughly seven blocks west of where Don Miller wrote Blue Like Jazz, six blocks south of where Beverly Cleary wrote about Ralph S. Mouse, and, some suspect, five blocks north of the park benches where Chuck Palahniuk wrote parts of Fight Club. He's not sure what any of that means. But if it's not creating an electrifying vortex of weird literary power, well, it's Portland, and it ought to be.

*And on the off chance you ever turn into a zombie and happen to retain ragged flashes of lucid memory, for your own safety, please remember that even though the dead are mysteriously drawn to Oregon, Max always writes with an assortment of blunt instruments close at hand. (And besides, even if you chewed through his five ton barricade of books and then survived being bludgeoned by his forty pound Underwood typewriter, he plays way too much soccer to be very tasty.)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >