HEAD DEAD WEST: The Zombie Preserve (for fans of Max Brooks, Rhiannon Frater, and Alden Bell) [NOOK Book]

Overview

Fans of Max Brooks, Robert Kirkman, and AMC’s Walking Dead TV series will love this new series from author Max King!

When Blake Prose arrives at the Great Wall of the infamous Oregon Zombie Preserve, he isn’t looking for adventure, thrills, or romance. All the young Texan wants is to survive the trek across the gruesome territory and reunite with his brother in Portland. But Blake has a smart mouth and a big heart. He isn’t even out of the ...
See more details below
HEAD DEAD WEST: The Zombie Preserve (for fans of Max Brooks, Rhiannon Frater, and Alden Bell)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.03
BN.com price

Overview

Fans of Max Brooks, Robert Kirkman, and AMC’s Walking Dead TV series will love this new series from author Max King!

When Blake Prose arrives at the Great Wall of the infamous Oregon Zombie Preserve, he isn’t looking for adventure, thrills, or romance. All the young Texan wants is to survive the trek across the gruesome territory and reunite with his brother in Portland. But Blake has a smart mouth and a big heart. He isn’t even out of the train station before he finds himself tangling with a vicious desperado, flirting with a vivacious scientist, and guarding a mysterious orphan girl — a vortex of trouble that will soon drag him into realms of horror and wonder far exceeding anything his travel guides advertised.

The first in a three part volume, Head Dead West: The Zombie Preserve follows Blake as he scrambles to escape dungeons, zombies, and mobs, all while struggling to decide whether his destiny should be shaped by his lifelong plans or by his new friends. A post-apocalyptic steam-punk western that romps through the philosophical and macabre, Head Dead West is a fast-paced passport to wild dystopian adventure.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940148907954
  • Publisher: ZEAL BOOKS
  • Publication date: 11/27/2013
  • Series: Head Dead West, #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 438,291
  • File size: 817 KB

Meet the Author

Max King lives and writes in Portland, Oregon, roughly seven blocks west of where Don Miller wrote Blue Like Jazz, six blocks south of where Beverly Cleary wrote about Ralph S. Mouse, and, some suspect, five blocks north of the park benches where Chuck Palahniuk wrote parts of Fight Club. He's not sure what any of that means. But if it's not creating an electrifying vortex of weird literary power, well, it's Portland, and it ought to be.

*And on the off chance you ever turn into a zombie and happen to retain ragged flashes of lucid memory, for your own safety, please remember that even though the dead are mysteriously drawn to Oregon, Max always writes with an assortment of blunt instruments close at hand. (And besides, even if you chewed through his five ton barricade of books and then survived being bludgeoned by his forty pound Underwood typewriter, he plays way too much soccer to be very tasty.)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Decent

    Pretty fun story but lost me during the internal monologs about being a pacifist and other nonsense. Set in the far future with interesting tech despite the old west feel of the world. Already burned through the second but not sure if the third is going to come as it's mid 2014 and the previous two came out at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)