Heartbreaker (Babymouse Series #5)

( 2 )

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal?BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and ...

See more details below
Paperback
$6.29
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$6.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (86) from $1.99   
  • New (18) from $3.50   
  • Used (68) from $1.99   
Heartbreaker (Babymouse Series #5)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

AHHH, VALENTINE'S DAY!
Babymouse loves Valentines Day! A day for pink hearts! Flowers! Candy! School dances and romance . . . sweet romance! WAIT! Romance? Ew! And what's this about a school dance? Does that mean Babymouse needs a date? Uh-oh! Looks like this Valentine's Day may turn into a Valentine's dud! Will Babymouse go to the school dance? Will she get any Valentines? Will she find true love? Find out in . . . Heartbreaker—the 5th hilarious, action-packed installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series! Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Children's Literature - Amie Rose Rotruck
As Valentine's Day approaches, Babymouse's head is filled with romance. Who will invite her to the school dance? As the days go by and no one asks her, Babymouse comes up with more and more elaborate plans to get a date (including a rather elaborate makeover inspired by Cosmouse magazine). Finally, she decides to ask someone herself, but even that fails to yield a date. Amidst Romeo and Juliet—and Gone With the Wind—inspired daydreams, Babymouse tries to navigate the winding path of adolescent love with often wacky results. This highly amusing graphic novel is a entertaining Valentine's story skillfully balancing romantic fantasy and school situations without ever being sappy. The illustrations are black and white with, of course, some valentine pink. The comments to the characters by the mysterious narrator/artist add another dimension to the story, ensuring that people of all ages can enjoy this tale.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780375837982
  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books
  • Publication date: 12/26/2006
  • Series: Babymouse Series , #5
  • Pages: 96
  • Sales rank: 158,867
  • Age range: 7 - 10 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.58 (w) x 10.90 (h) x 0.38 (d)

Meet the Author

Brother-and-sister team, Matthew Holm and Jennifer L. Holm have had their share of school dance dramas. Today, Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several highly acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor-winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer. They are both happily married and avoid dancing at all costs. Matthew and Jennifer live in Fallston, Maryland, and Hudson, New York, respectively.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    a MUST READ!!!! Book!!!!!!

    Babymouse LOVES Valentines day. But, her friend, Penny tells her about the Valentines day dance. BABYMOUSE DOESN'T HAVE A DATE!!!!!! But, when she gets to the dance, she sees her friend, Gorgie who doesn't have a date, so she dances with him.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Spoiler

    To the person who wrote on April, YOU ARE A SPOILER SO PLEASE BE QUIET!! A lot of people such as me, want to find out what happens by THEMSELFS not a random person like you. Not trying to be mean but thats the truth. :L

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)