Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass Series #3)

Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass Series #3)

4.7 150
by Sarah J. Maas
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength… See more details below

Overview

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

Editorial Reviews

Booklist

The pages fly by. Series fans will be relieved to hear that this installment is only the halfway point, and thanks to Maas' adroit plot maneuvers, well-wrought characters, and immersive world building, they'll be positively hooked for the forthcoming volumes.
Booklist on Crown of Midnight

Series fans will be satisfied not only by the intricate plot, dishy romance, and rich world building but they will be thrilled by the prospect of deepening adventures in the next volume.
Romantic Times Book Reviews on Crown of Midnight

With assassinations, betrayal, love and magic, this novel has something to match everyone's interests, without feeling cluttered. The action will carry you right to the end, leaving you eager for the next installment.
USA Today on Throne of Glass

A must-read for lovers of epic fantasy and fairy tales.
Tor.com on Throne of Glass

A welcome breath of fresh air to the oft-neglected epic fantasy field.
Romantic Times Book Reviews on Throne of Glass

Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book!
Top Pick RT Book Reviews

Maas shines as a brilliant storyteller . . . . The most exhilarating installment yet.
USA Today Happy Ever After on Throne of Glass

A must-read for lovers of epic fantasy and fairy tales.
School Library Journal
08/01/2014
Gr 8 Up—In this installment of the fantasy series, Celaena's true identity has been revealed. While on an assassin's errand in Wendlyn, she spends her days drinking and brawling, lost in the pain and anger caused by Chaol's betrayal and Nehemia's death. Queen Maeve of the Fae has different plans for Celaena, and sends Fae Prince Rowan to fetch the heroine and train her in the ways of fairy magic. Celaena begrudgingly agrees by striking a bargain: she learns magic, and Maeve shares her knowledge of the Wyrdkeys and how the king might be defeated. Meanwhile, in Adarlan, Chaol enters a tenuous alliance with the king's general, Adeion Ashryver, to support the underground resistance movement, and Prince Dorian continues to try to control his own newly found magical abilities, or risk being executed by his father. Readers will devour Maas's latest entry. The plot remains fast paced, balancing scenes of intense action with emotionally wrenching interactions between characters. Intriguing backstories continue to develop, vacillating between thrilling and heartbreaking, leaving readers to guess where alliances truly lie. While the story continues to be told from multiple perspectives, the addition of new characters brings tangled new relationships and dimension to the plot. Those unfamiliar with the previous titles will have a difficult time keeping up, but this is a must-purchase for libraries owning Throne of Glass (2012) and Crown of Midnight (2013, both Bloomsbury).—Kelsey Johnson-Kaiser, Columbus Public Library, WI
Kirkus Reviews
2014-07-16
Magic, painful truths and dangerous military escalations characterize this series continuation. Celaena Sardothien's in Wendlyn, ordered by the villainous king of Adarlan to assassinate Wendlyn's royals, or he'll execute her ex and the family of her dead best friend, Nehemia. Celaena—the presumed-dead rightful queen of the conquered Terrasen—plans on finding a way to destroy the king of Adarlan's sources of power, in fulfillment of a vow made on Nehemia's grave. Celaena seeks out the Fae Queen Maeve for information; cunning Maeve refuses until Celaena proves herself (with the help of a prickly, elite warrior Fae trainer) by embracing her hated demi-Fae heritage and magic. Celaena, grieving, goes through dark emotional times and must confront her scarred psyche in order to return to the unapologetically awesome heroine readers know and love. Meanwhile, there's a lot going on: A witch deals with clan politics (Adarlan's king makes them his wyvern-riding airborne cavalry), Chaol attempts to protect Dorian from his own magic, a healer falls for Dorian and more. The jumps from narrative to narrative initially detract from the story's momentum, but multiple perspectives on Adarlan's grotesque schemes and tactics eventually pay off. Despite the slow beginning, tension snowballs into devastating twists and an absolutely riveting ending. Maas' usual hallmarks—an epic fantasy setting and the little-exploited truth that platonic relationships can be more intense and compelling than romantic—are present in force. Will leave readers ravenous for more. (Fantasy. 14 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781619630666
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
09/02/2014
Series:
Throne of Glass Series , #3
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
269
File size:
4 MB
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >