Hell and Beyond: A Novel

Hell and Beyond: A Novel

2.2 30
by Michael Phillips
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A prominent atheist dies unexpectedly and goes to hell. Or so it appears...but nothing is what it seems in this engrossing allegorical novel about the afterlife. In the tradition of C.S. Lewis' The Great Divorce and John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, Michael Phillips has produced a riveting tale of eternity. Hell and Beyond is a lively and fascinating trip through the

Overview

A prominent atheist dies unexpectedly and goes to hell. Or so it appears...but nothing is what it seems in this engrossing allegorical novel about the afterlife. In the tradition of C.S. Lewis' The Great Divorce and John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, Michael Phillips has produced a riveting tale of eternity. Hell and Beyond is a lively and fascinating trip through the afterlife-one that will inspire you to re-discover the significance of your life here and now.

The key endorsements of several prominent authors marks Hell and Beyond as one of the significant publishing events of 2013.

Eugene Peterson says, "I highly recommend Hell and Beyond to anyone expecting to die, whether sooner or later."

Paul Young, author of The Shack writes in the Foreword to Hell and Beyond, "Phillips has offered a breathtaking and important addition to the world of traditional theological allegory."

And C. Baxter Kruger, author of The Shack Revisited, praises Hell and Beyond with the words, "Michael Phillips has done the impossible--written a thriller on hell."

Discover why these men and readers around the world are comparing Hell and Beyond with C.S. Lewis's The Great Divorce and George MacDonald's Lilith.

Hell and Beyond is available in bound-book and e-book formats.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780940652880
Publisher:
Sunrise Books
Publication date:
09/09/2013
Pages:
206
Sales rank:
1,111,427
Product dimensions:
5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.44(d)

Meet the Author

Michael Phillips is a novelist, biblical scholar, historian, and devotional writer whose books been embraced by readers around the world. His nonfiction books include biographies of Victorian author George MacDonald and Olympic athlete-turned-Congressman Jim Ryun.

In the 1980s, Phillips' edited and facsimile editions of MacDonald's nearly-forgotten works inspired a worldwide resurgence of interest in the Scotsman whose writing helped inspire C.S. Lewis' conversion from atheism to Christianity.

Phillips is best known for his fiction, a body of work that includes sixty titles, including beloved historical novels set throughout the world.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Hell and Beyond: A Novel 2.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book to find a cover page, page titled chapter 1, then a blank page. Hoping this is fixed before anyone else tries to purchase.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There was no text. Just three pages - one was the cover page, the "chapter one" page, then a blank page. Very disappointing. I hope the problem gets fixed soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this and I too have only 3 pages with NO TEXT! What's up?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had the same problem but instead of of complaining I contacted B&N. Here is their answer to my inquiry. "Thank you for writing to us. We understand your concern regarding the NOOK book titled "Hell and Beyond", as you received only 3 pages. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and we will be glad to assist you. We would like to inform that we have replicated the issue and found same at our end. We assure you that we have reviewed the issues you have raised and forwarded to our concern team for review and correction. This means the content was not formatted correctly and will need to be corrected by our NOOK content management team. It is recommended that you archive the title and leave it archived for 5-10 business days. While archived, our content team will work quickly to fix the issue(s) regarding that title. After 1-2 weeks the issue will be resolved and then you can un-archive your title at your leisure. We hope this email has been of assistance. If you have further questions or inquiries, please write back to us we will be glad to assist you." I hope this works for you all.
Collins328 More than 1 year ago
I got thi s book and tried to read it but there are only 3 pgs and none of them say anything except one page says Chapter 1
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Same here.  3 blank pages.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No wonder it was free!
GrannaCheri More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed!!! Got this on Book Bub, and had the same problem as everyone else on here. Only three pages. Please get this fixed and send us the entire book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just 3 pages - no book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No book.....3 pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the book didn't have any content/pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been having the same problems, 3 pages with nothing on them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted to read something but got nothing !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gee the book was free on Book Bub but there was no book and nothing beyond page 3. Totally disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only 3 pages....a cover, chapter 1, and blank :(. I hoped the other reviews were wrong, guess not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No book to review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago